University of Maryland ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for University of Maryland, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

University of Maryland's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 2,876 applicants received 750 offers (26.1%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 164, the median grant was $28,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 81.7%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Baltimore, Maryland · Report year 2025 · all University of Maryland data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications2,876
Offers of admission750
Acceptance rate26.1%
Enrollees from the applicant pool229
Enrolled in the first-year class229
First-year class size229
LSAT 25th percentile156
LSAT median164
LSAT 75th percentile166
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.37
Undergraduate GPA median3.72
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.88
Students who submitted LSAT scores220
Students who submitted GRE scores9

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$37,830
Non-resident tuition (annual)$55,844
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$2,179
Living on campus$27,982
Living off campus$32,842
Tuition guaranteeno

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid79.0%
Median grant (per year)$28,000
25th percentile grant$10,161
75th percentile grant$40,000
Half tuition or less33.0%
Above half, below full31.0%
Full tuition11.0%
Above full tuition4.0%

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled717
JD students (all years)650
First-year JD students229
Non-JD students67
First-year class size229

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers213
First-time passers174
First-time passage rate81.7%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)86.3%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)86.8%

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class229
White123
Black31
Hispanic22
Asian30
American Indian or Alaska Native1
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial12
Race not reported10
Men90
Women136
Another gender1
Gender not reported2

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the University of Maryland 509 report show?

University of Maryland's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 2,876 applicants received 750 offers (26.1%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 164, the median grant was $28,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 81.7%.

How many applicants did University of Maryland receive, and how many were admitted?

University of Maryland received 2,876 completed applications and issued 750 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 26.1%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at University of Maryland?

For University of Maryland, in-state tuition is $37,830 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $32,842, the median grant is $28,000 per year, 79% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at University of Maryland?

University of Maryland had a first-time bar passage rate of 81.7% across 213 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 86.8%.