Law School Offer Yield: How Many Admitted Students Actually Enroll
194 schools with a computable rate · ABA 509, 2025 cycle · lowest first
Across the 196 ABA law schools, the median school sends 136,196 acceptance offers and enrols 41,840 students — a median offer yield of 31.6%, or roughly 3 in 10.
That figure is not an error, and it does not mean schools are failing to fill seats. Offers include every admission granted, including waitlist promotions, while enrollees count only students who registered. A student holding two offers is counted twice in the first number and once in the second. Class fill — measured against actual seat capacity — has a median of 98.5%, which is what tells you whether a school filled its class.
The spread is wide. At the low end, offer yield runs to 18.2%; at the high end it reaches 81.1%. The high end is concentrated among schools with small applicant pools, where the offers count is small enough that most recipients have only one option.
2 schools report zero offers for the reporting period and are excluded from every yield calculation. A missing figure is not a zero yield, and treating it as one would place them falsely at the top of a "least chosen schools" ranking.
Offer yield does not measure school quality. Students commonly hold several offers and choose on net cost, location, or a partner's admission. The 509 does not disclose whether an offer included full tuition, which is among the strongest explanations for a low yield.
Two different numbers
Offer yield and class fill answer different questions, and conflating them is the most common misreading of this data. Yield is measured against offers extended and tells you how many admits chose this school. Fill is measured against seat capacity and tells you whether the class was actually filled.
| Measure | Formula | What it answers | Median |
|---|---|---|---|
| Offer yield | enrollees ÷ offers | How strongly admitted students prefer this school over their other options | 31.6% |
| Class fill | enrollees ÷ first-year class size | Whether the school filled the class it planned | 98.5% |
A school can have the lowest yield on this page and still fill its class completely. That combination usually means it extends a large number of offers rather than that it struggles to fill seats.
Offer yield distribution
Schools grouped by how many of their admitted students enrol. The band boundaries are ours for readability — they are not an official classification — and the school count in each band is given so you can see how the distribution is actually shaped.
| Band | Schools | Meaning | Share of schools |
|---|---|---|---|
| Below 25% | 35 | fewer than 1 in 4 admits enrol | 18% |
| 25–40% | 123 | roughly 1 in 3 | 63% |
| 40–60% | 31 | about half | 16% |
| 60%+ | 5 | most admits enrol | 3% |
Full ranking by offer yield
Lowest first. Schools with fewer than 25 offers are excluded because the ratio depends on too few decisions to be comparable.
| # | School | State | Applications | Offers | Enrolled | Yield | Offers not taken | Class fill |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | New England Law/Boston | MA | 3,997 | 2,450 | 445 | 18.2% | 2,005 | 98.7% |
| 2 | Oregon | OR | 1,850 | 1,017 | 185 | 18.2% | 832 | 99.5% |
| 3 | Santa Clara University | CA | 2,575 | 1,354 | 253 | 18.7% | 1,101 | 98.8% |
| 4 | Appalachian School of Law | VA | 732 | 446 | 84 | 18.8% | 362 | 91.3% |
| 5 | Texas A&M University | TX | 5,240 | 634 | 121 | 19.1% | 513 | 94.5% |
| 6 | DePaul University | IL | 2,643 | 920 | 185 | 20.1% | 735 | 99.5% |
| 7 | Colorado | CO | 3,458 | 953 | 192 | 20.1% | 761 | 96.5% |
| 8 | Massachusetts Dartmouth | MA | 1,311 | 684 | 138 | 20.2% | 546 | 97.9% |
| 9 | American University | DC | 5,952 | 1,981 | 400 | 20.2% | 1,581 | 98.8% |
| 10 | Northeastern University | MA | 5,652 | 1,369 | 279 | 20.4% | 1,090 | 98.6% |
| 11 | Brooklyn Law School | NY | 4,600 | 2,024 | 414 | 20.5% | 1,610 | 100.0% |
| 12 | Quinnipiac University | CT | 1,485 | 640 | 133 | 20.8% | 507 | 98.5% |
| 13 | Vanderbilt University | TN | 6,124 | 812 | 170 | 20.9% | 642 | 98.8% |
| 14 | Richmond | VA | 1,738 | 689 | 146 | 21.2% | 543 | 100.0% |
| 15 | Charleston School of Law | SC | 2,215 | 1,112 | 237 | 21.3% | 875 | 98.3% |
| 16 | Arizona | AZ | 1,781 | 497 | 109 | 21.9% | 388 | 99.1% |
| 17 | Drexel University | PA | 2,689 | 797 | 177 | 22.2% | 620 | 97.8% |
| 18 | San Francisco | CA | 2,100 | 890 | 198 | 22.2% | 692 | 98.5% |
| 19 | Pepperdine University | CA | 4,272 | 998 | 223 | 22.3% | 775 | 98.2% |
| 20 | George Washington University, The | DC | 9,718 | 2,644 | 595 | 22.5% | 2,049 | 97.2% |
| 21 | Case Western Reserve University | OH | 2,267 | 789 | 178 | 22.6% | 611 | 98.9% |
| 22 | Albany Law School | NY | 2,638 | 988 | 225 | 22.8% | 763 | 94.9% |
| 23 | Seattle University | WA | 2,304 | 897 | 209 | 23.3% | 688 | 100.0% |
| 24 | California Western School of Law | CA | 2,144 | 1,006 | 235 | 23.4% | 771 | 97.1% |
| 25 | St. John's University | NY | 4,417 | 1,018 | 238 | 23.4% | 780 | 98.8% |
| 26 | Baylor University | TX | 3,658 | 693 | 165 | 23.8% | 528 | 100.0% |
| 27 | San Diego | CA | 4,241 | 997 | 239 | 24.0% | 758 | 99.6% |
| 28 | Washington and Lee University | VA | 2,341 | 532 | 128 | 24.1% | 404 | 97.7% |
| 29 | Washington University (St. Louis) | MO | 5,616 | 1,065 | 258 | 24.2% | 807 | 98.9% |
| 30 | Loyola University-Chicago | IL | 4,244 | 1,196 | 291 | 24.3% | 905 | 98.3% |
| 31 | New York Law School | NY | 4,114 | 1,632 | 400 | 24.5% | 1,232 | 97.8% |
| 32 | Boston University | MA | 7,892 | 953 | 234 | 24.6% | 719 | 98.3% |
| 33 | Minnesota | MN | 3,405 | 909 | 225 | 24.8% | 684 | 98.7% |
| 34 | Western New England University | MA | 871 | 452 | 112 | 24.8% | 340 | 97.4% |
| 35 | Northwestern University | IL | 7,976 | 981 | 245 | 25.0% | 736 | 98.0% |
| 36 | Suffolk University | MA | 3,481 | 2,153 | 539 | 25.0% | 1,614 | 99.1% |
| 37 | Cornell University | NY | 4,608 | 838 | 210 | 25.1% | 628 | 96.8% |
| 38 | Kansas | KS | 1,172 | 458 | 115 | 25.1% | 343 | 94.3% |
| 39 | Penn State Dickinson Law | PA | 1,912 | 822 | 208 | 25.3% | 614 | 96.7% |
| 40 | Tennessee | TN | 2,176 | 539 | 139 | 25.8% | 400 | 99.3% |
| 41 | District of Columbia | DC | 749 | 277 | 72 | 26.0% | 205 | 86.7% |
| 42 | Hofstra University | NY | 2,448 | 993 | 259 | 26.1% | 734 | 98.5% |
| 43 | Illinois | IL | 2,153 | 709 | 187 | 26.4% | 522 | 99.5% |
| 44 | Willamette University | OR | 858 | 527 | 139 | 26.4% | 388 | 100.0% |
| 45 | Ave Maria School of Law | FL | 1,212 | 569 | 152 | 26.7% | 417 | 92.1% |
| 46 | Miami | FL | 4,593 | 1,132 | 306 | 27.0% | 826 | 97.8% |
| 47 | Belmont University | TN | 1,337 | 503 | 136 | 27.0% | 367 | 100.0% |
| 48 | Maine | ME | 915 | 341 | 93 | 27.3% | 248 | 89.4% |
| 49 | Lewis & Clark Law School | OR | 1,133 | 620 | 171 | 27.6% | 449 | 97.2% |
| 50 | Duke University | NC | 6,240 | 804 | 222 | 27.6% | 582 | 97.8% |
| 51 | Pittsburgh | PA | 1,606 | 560 | 155 | 27.7% | 405 | 100.0% |
| 52 | North Texas at Dallas | TX | 1,883 | 456 | 127 | 27.9% | 329 | 97.7% |
| 53 | Syracuse University | NY | 2,752 | 952 | 266 | 27.9% | 686 | 98.2% |
| 54 | The Ohio State University | OH | 2,291 | 564 | 158 | 28.0% | 406 | 99.4% |
| 55 | Utah | UT | 1,495 | 378 | 106 | 28.0% | 272 | 99.1% |
| 56 | Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles | CA | 4,549 | 1,185 | 333 | 28.1% | 852 | 98.5% |
| 57 | Cardozo School of Law (Yeshiva University) | NY | 3,833 | 1,133 | 319 | 28.2% | 814 | 97.9% |
| 58 | Iowa | IA | 1,251 | 554 | 156 | 28.2% | 398 | 98.1% |
| 59 | Southern California | CA | 7,204 | 805 | 227 | 28.2% | 578 | 99.6% |
| 60 | Illinois-Chicago | IL | 2,488 | 1,308 | 369 | 28.2% | 939 | 97.4% |
| 61 | Widener University Commonwealth Law School | PA | 909 | 549 | 155 | 28.2% | 394 | 97.5% |
| 62 | Western State College of Law (Westcliff University) | CA | 916 | 400 | 113 | 28.2% | 287 | 96.6% |
| 63 | Wake Forest University | NC | 2,883 | 710 | 201 | 28.3% | 509 | 98.5% |
| 64 | Kentucky | KY | 1,236 | 504 | 143 | 28.4% | 361 | 97.3% |
| 65 | Indiana University-Bloomington | IN | 1,831 | 655 | 186 | 28.4% | 469 | 100.0% |
| 66 | Chicago-Kent College of Law (IIT) | IL | 2,212 | 854 | 244 | 28.6% | 610 | 99.6% |
| 67 | Georgetown University | DC | 13,924 | 2,193 | 629 | 28.7% | 1,564 | 93.6% |
| 68 | Tulane University | LA | 2,069 | 827 | 239 | 28.9% | 588 | 99.2% |
| 69 | Arizona State University | AZ | 4,610 | 912 | 264 | 28.9% | 648 | 99.2% |
| 70 | Barry University | FL | 1,582 | 885 | 257 | 29.0% | 628 | 99.6% |
| 71 | Howard University | DC | 2,428 | 584 | 170 | 29.1% | 414 | 96.6% |
| 72 | Chapman University | CA | 2,514 | 516 | 152 | 29.5% | 364 | 99.3% |
| 73 | Duquesne University | PA | 1,432 | 619 | 183 | 29.6% | 436 | 98.4% |
| 74 | Catholic University of America, The | DC | 1,867 | 605 | 179 | 29.6% | 426 | 98.4% |
| 75 | California College of the Law, San Francisco | CA | 4,593 | 1,262 | 374 | 29.6% | 888 | 98.4% |
| 76 | Chicago | IL | 6,581 | 641 | 191 | 29.8% | 450 | 94.1% |
| 77 | Florida International University | FL | 3,100 | 582 | 175 | 30.1% | 407 | 100.0% |
| 78 | Washington | WA | 3,412 | 669 | 202 | 30.2% | 467 | 97.6% |
| 79 | Capital University Law School | OH | 874 | 576 | 174 | 30.2% | 402 | 96.7% |
| 80 | Roger Williams University | RI | 1,003 | 615 | 186 | 30.2% | 429 | 98.4% |
| 81 | Fordham University | NY | 8,811 | 1,429 | 433 | 30.3% | 996 | 97.5% |
| 82 | Creighton University | NE | 815 | 526 | 160 | 30.4% | 366 | 98.8% |
| 83 | New York University | NY | 10,546 | 1,412 | 430 | 30.5% | 982 | 95.1% |
| 84 | Cincinnati | OH | 1,353 | 443 | 135 | 30.5% | 308 | 97.1% |
| 85 | Houston | TX | 3,510 | 807 | 246 | 30.5% | 561 | 98.8% |
| 86 | the Pacific (McGeorge) | CA | 1,248 | 679 | 207 | 30.5% | 472 | 97.2% |
| 87 | Maryland | MD | 2,876 | 750 | 229 | 30.5% | 521 | 100.0% |
| 88 | Alabama | AL | 1,748 | 448 | 137 | 30.6% | 311 | 97.9% |
| 89 | Texas Southern University | TX | 2,032 | 673 | 207 | 30.8% | 466 | 93.7% |
| 90 | Villanova University | PA | 2,889 | 749 | 231 | 30.8% | 518 | 99.6% |
| 91 | Gonzaga University | WA | 1,273 | 651 | 201 | 30.9% | 450 | 99.0% |
| 92 | Denver | CO | 2,214 | 915 | 283 | 30.9% | 632 | 99.3% |
| 93 | California-Los Angeles | CA | 8,623 | 1,039 | 322 | 31.0% | 717 | 98.2% |
| 94 | Northern Illinois University | IL | 951 | 421 | 131 | 31.1% | 290 | 97.8% |
| 95 | Georgia | GA | 4,695 | 597 | 186 | 31.2% | 411 | 100.0% |
| 96 | Temple University | PA | 3,043 | 742 | 232 | 31.3% | 510 | 97.9% |
| 97 | Hawaii | HI | 1,654 | 434 | 137 | 31.6% | 297 | 97.9% |
| 98 | Georgia State University | GA | 2,450 | 749 | 237 | 31.6% | 512 | 100.0% |
| 99 | Texas Tech University | TX | 2,011 | 515 | 163 | 31.7% | 352 | 97.0% |
| 100 | Notre Dame | IN | 3,579 | 575 | 182 | 31.7% | 393 | 98.4% |
| 101 | Southern Illinois University | IL | 724 | 407 | 129 | 31.7% | 278 | 97.0% |
| 102 | Vermont Law School | VT | 1,553 | 909 | 289 | 31.8% | 620 | 99.7% |
| 103 | Pace University | NY | 2,293 | 1,012 | 322 | 31.8% | 690 | 99.4% |
| 104 | City University of New York (CUNY) | NY | 2,300 | 659 | 210 | 31.9% | 449 | 95.9% |
| 105 | Atlanta's John Marshall Law School | GA | 1,274 | 416 | 133 | 32.0% | 283 | 96.4% |
| 106 | Nova Southeastern University | FL | 1,458 | 690 | 222 | 32.2% | 468 | 98.7% |
| 107 | Seton Hall University | NJ | 2,714 | 930 | 300 | 32.3% | 630 | 99.3% |
| 108 | Connecticut | CT | 2,299 | 461 | 149 | 32.3% | 312 | 98.7% |
| 109 | New Hampshire | NH | 1,455 | 756 | 245 | 32.4% | 511 | 98.8% |
| 110 | Montana | MT | 568 | 292 | 95 | 32.5% | 197 | 100.0% |
| 111 | Drake University | IA | 788 | 432 | 141 | 32.6% | 291 | 100.0% |
| 112 | Cleveland State University | OH | 1,733 | 597 | 195 | 32.7% | 402 | 100.0% |
| 113 | Toledo | OH | 733 | 385 | 126 | 32.7% | 259 | 100.0% |
| 114 | Stetson University | FL | 2,791 | 1,017 | 333 | 32.7% | 684 | 99.1% |
| 115 | South Dakota | SD | 404 | 253 | 83 | 32.8% | 170 | 94.3% |
| 116 | Emory University | GA | 3,931 | 1,183 | 389 | 32.9% | 794 | 99.5% |
| 117 | California-Davis | CA | 3,896 | 622 | 205 | 33.0% | 417 | 98.1% |
| 118 | Florida A&M University | FL | 1,546 | 536 | 177 | 33.0% | 359 | 100.0% |
| 119 | Boston College | MA | 7,668 | 650 | 216 | 33.2% | 434 | 98.6% |
| 120 | Rutgers University | NJ | 4,305 | 1,444 | 480 | 33.2% | 964 | 98.2% |
| 121 | Campbell University | NC | 1,168 | 592 | 197 | 33.3% | 395 | 97.5% |
| 122 | Touro University | NY | 1,462 | 667 | 222 | 33.3% | 445 | 99.6% |
| 123 | Jacksonville University | FL | 572 | 201 | 67 | 33.3% | 134 | 95.7% |
| 124 | Cooley Law School | MI | 1,323 | 700 | 235 | 33.6% | 465 | 99.2% |
| 125 | St. Thomas (Minnesota) | MN | 847 | 488 | 164 | 33.6% | 324 | 97.6% |
| 126 | Dayton | OH | 1,611 | 494 | 167 | 33.8% | 327 | 99.4% |
| 127 | California-Irvine | CA | 3,720 | 555 | 188 | 33.9% | 367 | 99.5% |
| 128 | Southern Methodist University | TX | 3,038 | 747 | 254 | 34.0% | 493 | 100.0% |
| 129 | Mercer University | GA | 1,184 | 447 | 152 | 34.0% | 295 | 100.0% |
| 130 | South Carolina | SC | 2,114 | 632 | 215 | 34.0% | 417 | 97.3% |
| 131 | Nebraska | NE | 1,096 | 440 | 152 | 34.5% | 288 | 98.7% |
| 132 | Southwestern Law School | CA | 3,584 | 1,307 | 454 | 34.7% | 853 | 98.9% |
| 133 | Loyola University-New Orleans | LA | 1,241 | 632 | 220 | 34.8% | 412 | 98.7% |
| 134 | Widener University Delaware Law School | DE | 1,317 | 786 | 276 | 35.1% | 510 | 99.6% |
| 135 | Florida State University | FL | 2,711 | 433 | 153 | 35.3% | 280 | 100.0% |
| 136 | Florida | FL | 3,887 | 642 | 228 | 35.5% | 414 | 99.6% |
| 137 | California-Berkeley | CA | 6,562 | 974 | 348 | 35.7% | 626 | 93.0% |
| 138 | George Mason University | VA | 2,792 | 443 | 159 | 35.9% | 284 | 100.0% |
| 139 | St. Mary's University | TX | 2,906 | 755 | 273 | 36.2% | 482 | 96.8% |
| 140 | Mississippi Christian University School of Law (MC Law) | MS | 806 | 482 | 175 | 36.3% | 307 | 97.8% |
| 141 | Columbia University | NY | 9,463 | 1,120 | 411 | 36.7% | 709 | 92.6% |
| 142 | Samford University | AL | 925 | 453 | 168 | 37.1% | 285 | 98.8% |
| 143 | Missouri | MO | 798 | 335 | 125 | 37.3% | 210 | 96.9% |
| 144 | Baltimore | MD | 1,299 | 643 | 240 | 37.3% | 403 | 96.8% |
| 145 | Liberty University | VA | 628 | 369 | 138 | 37.4% | 231 | 97.9% |
| 146 | Lincoln Memorial University | TN | 828 | 432 | 162 | 37.5% | 270 | 99.4% |
| 147 | Michigan State University | MI | 1,526 | 397 | 150 | 37.8% | 247 | 100.0% |
| 148 | William & Mary Law School | VA | 2,176 | 478 | 181 | 37.9% | 297 | 98.4% |
| 149 | Northern Kentucky University | KY | 661 | 388 | 147 | 37.9% | 241 | 94.8% |
| 150 | St. Thomas University (Florida) | FL | 1,771 | 1,067 | 409 | 38.3% | 658 | 94.9% |
| 151 | North Dakota | ND | 401 | 253 | 97 | 38.3% | 156 | 100.0% |
| 152 | New Mexico | NM | 640 | 265 | 102 | 38.5% | 163 | 94.4% |
| 153 | Elon University | NC | 1,107 | 589 | 227 | 38.5% | 362 | 99.6% |
| 154 | Pennsylvania | PA | 8,074 | 650 | 254 | 39.1% | 396 | 95.8% |
| 155 | Louisville | KY | 579 | 367 | 144 | 39.2% | 223 | 99.3% |
| 156 | Idaho | ID | 740 | 494 | 194 | 39.3% | 300 | 98.5% |
| 157 | University at Buffalo | NY | 977 | 414 | 163 | 39.4% | 251 | 97.6% |
| 158 | Mississippi | MS | 958 | 402 | 159 | 39.6% | 243 | 99.4% |
| 159 | Wayne State University | MI | 1,290 | 320 | 128 | 40.0% | 192 | 99.2% |
| 160 | Memphis | TN | 582 | 239 | 96 | 40.2% | 143 | 100.0% |
| 161 | Detroit Mercy | MI | 1,478 | 612 | 246 | 40.2% | 366 | 99.6% |
| 162 | Tulsa | OK | 509 | 288 | 118 | 41.0% | 170 | 100.0% |
| 163 | Texas | TX | 6,297 | 881 | 361 | 41.0% | 520 | 96.8% |
| 164 | Wyoming | WY | 483 | 173 | 71 | 41.0% | 102 | 95.9% |
| 165 | Saint Louis University | MO | 941 | 531 | 220 | 41.4% | 311 | 99.1% |
| 166 | Oklahoma City University | OK | 715 | 369 | 155 | 42.0% | 214 | 96.9% |
| 167 | Oklahoma | OK | 1,391 | 464 | 196 | 42.2% | 268 | 98.0% |
| 168 | Michigan | MI | 8,982 | 770 | 329 | 42.7% | 441 | 95.9% |
| 169 | Southern University | LA | 1,153 | 652 | 281 | 43.1% | 371 | 93.7% |
| 170 | Missouri-Kansas City | MO | 714 | 328 | 142 | 43.3% | 186 | 99.3% |
| 171 | Mitchell/Hamline School of Law | MN | 1,603 | 824 | 360 | 43.7% | 464 | 98.9% |
| 172 | Virginia | VA | 6,734 | 685 | 302 | 44.1% | 383 | 97.7% |
| 173 | Akron | OH | 762 | 446 | 199 | 44.6% | 247 | 98.0% |
| 174 | Arkansas at Little Rock | AR | 603 | 331 | 150 | 45.3% | 181 | 97.4% |
| 175 | North Carolina | NC | 3,459 | 387 | 176 | 45.5% | 211 | 97.2% |
| 176 | Wisconsin | WI | 2,479 | 474 | 220 | 46.4% | 254 | 98.2% |
| 177 | South Texas College of Law Houston | TX | 2,770 | 932 | 434 | 46.6% | 498 | 99.3% |
| 178 | Marquette University | WI | 2,112 | 467 | 218 | 46.7% | 249 | 100.0% |
| 179 | Louisiana State University | LA | 1,253 | 483 | 228 | 47.2% | 255 | 99.1% |
| 180 | Faulkner University | AL | 620 | 334 | 159 | 47.6% | 175 | 95.2% |
| 181 | West Virginia University | WV | 590 | 238 | 114 | 47.9% | 124 | 100.0% |
| 182 | Nevada-Las Vegas | NV | 1,056 | 325 | 156 | 48.0% | 169 | 100.0% |
| 183 | Wilmington University School of Law | DE | 273 | 142 | 69 | 48.6% | 73 | 92.0% |
| 184 | Stanford University | CA | 5,526 | 337 | 173 | 51.3% | 164 | 89.6% |
| 185 | Regent University | VA | 537 | 238 | 126 | 52.9% | 112 | 99.2% |
| 186 | Washburn University | KS | 549 | 255 | 136 | 53.3% | 119 | 99.3% |
| 187 | Arkansas | AR | 950 | 253 | 135 | 53.4% | 118 | 100.0% |
| 188 | Indiana University-Indianapolis | IN | 904 | 505 | 273 | 54.1% | 232 | 97.5% |
| 189 | Harvard University | MA | 8,872 | 816 | 483 | 59.2% | 333 | 83.4% |
| 190 | Inter American University of Puerto Rico | PR | 542 | 276 | 205 | 74.3% | 71 | 100.0% |
| 191 | Yale University | CT | 5,562 | 226 | 175 | 77.4% | 51 | 85.8% |
| 192 | Puerto Rico | PR | 383 | 152 | 121 | 79.6% | 31 | 99.2% |
| 193 | Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico | PR | 325 | 200 | 161 | 80.5% | 39 | 100.0% |
| 194 | Brigham Young University | UT | 649 | 148 | 120 | 81.1% | 28 | 98.4% |
Not in this ranking
2 schools report zero offers in the source data while also reporting enrolled students, which is not a possible combination — the offer figure is missing rather than genuinely zero. They are excluded from every calculation above rather than treated as 0% yield.
| School | Applications | Offers | Enrolled | Class fill |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| North Carolina Central University | 1,303 | not reported | 130 | 97.7% |
| Ohio Northern University | 1,355 | not reported | 129 | 100.0% |
Class fill ranking
The complementary measure: enrolled students against first-year class capacity. Lowest first, since these are the schools with the largest gap between planned and actual class size.
| # | School | State | Class size | Enrolled | Seats unfilled | Fill | Offer yield |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Harvard University | MA | 579 | 483 | 96 | 83.4% | 59.2% |
| 2 | Yale University | CT | 204 | 175 | 29 | 85.8% | 77.4% |
| 3 | District of Columbia | DC | 83 | 72 | 11 | 86.7% | 26.0% |
| 4 | Maine | ME | 104 | 93 | 11 | 89.4% | 27.3% |
| 5 | Stanford University | CA | 193 | 173 | 20 | 89.6% | 51.3% |
| 6 | Appalachian School of Law | VA | 92 | 84 | 8 | 91.3% | 18.8% |
| 7 | Wilmington University School of Law | DE | 75 | 69 | 6 | 92.0% | 48.6% |
| 8 | Ave Maria School of Law | FL | 165 | 152 | 13 | 92.1% | 26.7% |
| 9 | Columbia University | NY | 444 | 411 | 33 | 92.6% | 36.7% |
| 10 | California-Berkeley | CA | 374 | 348 | 26 | 93.0% | 35.7% |
| 11 | Georgetown University | DC | 672 | 629 | 43 | 93.6% | 28.7% |
| 12 | Texas Southern University | TX | 221 | 207 | 14 | 93.7% | 30.8% |
| 13 | Southern University | LA | 300 | 281 | 19 | 93.7% | 43.1% |
| 14 | Chicago | IL | 203 | 191 | 12 | 94.1% | 29.8% |
| 15 | Kansas | KS | 122 | 115 | 7 | 94.3% | 25.1% |
| 16 | South Dakota | SD | 88 | 83 | 5 | 94.3% | 32.8% |
| 17 | New Mexico | NM | 108 | 102 | 6 | 94.4% | 38.5% |
| 18 | Texas A&M University | TX | 128 | 121 | 7 | 94.5% | 19.1% |
| 19 | Northern Kentucky University | KY | 155 | 147 | 8 | 94.8% | 37.9% |
| 20 | St. Thomas University (Florida) | FL | 431 | 409 | 22 | 94.9% | 38.3% |
| 21 | Albany Law School | NY | 237 | 225 | 12 | 94.9% | 22.8% |
| 22 | New York University | NY | 452 | 430 | 22 | 95.1% | 30.5% |
| 23 | Faulkner University | AL | 167 | 159 | 8 | 95.2% | 47.6% |
| 24 | Jacksonville University | FL | 70 | 67 | 3 | 95.7% | 33.3% |
| 25 | Pennsylvania | PA | 265 | 254 | 11 | 95.8% | 39.1% |
| 26 | City University of New York (CUNY) | NY | 219 | 210 | 9 | 95.9% | 31.9% |
| 27 | Michigan | MI | 343 | 329 | 14 | 95.9% | 42.7% |
| 28 | Wyoming | WY | 74 | 71 | 3 | 95.9% | 41.0% |
| 29 | Atlanta's John Marshall Law School | GA | 138 | 133 | 5 | 96.4% | 32.0% |
| 30 | Colorado | CO | 199 | 192 | 7 | 96.5% | 20.1% |
No school exceeds 100% fill, which confirms the enrolled and class-capacity figures in the 509 use a consistent basis. Even the lowest figure on this page leaves the class substantially filled — low yield and low fill are not the same problem.
What drives yield, and what this data cannot show
Yield correlates with how many offers a school extends: schools with very large offer counts convert a smaller share, because each admitted student is one of many options available to them. Median yield by tuition level, where the school reports an annual figure:
| Annual tuition | Schools | Median offer yield |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition under $30,000 | 38 | 34.0% |
| Tuition $30,000–$50,000 | 42 | 32.2% |
| Tuition $50,000–$70,000 | 55 | 29.5% |
| Tuition over $70,000 | 27 | 28.2% |
Read this table as description, not explanation
- The tuition grouping is correlational. Cheaper schools having higher yield may reflect cost, geographic location, applicant pool size, or scholarship policy. This dataset cannot separate them.
- The 509 does not disclose whether offers include full tuition. That is likely among the strongest drivers of yield, and it is exactly what is missing here.
- External factors are invisible. Students hold offers across schools and choose on scholarships, a partner's admission, geography, or family reasons. None of that appears in the disclosure.
- One cohort, no trend. The 509 reports the most recent entering class only, so nothing on this page describes change over time.
Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle. Applications, offers and enrollees describe the most recent entering class. Offer yield is enrollees divided by offers extended; class fill is enrollees divided by first-year class size. Neither is a measure of school quality.