Home / Compare / Texas vs Texas A&M University

Texas vs Texas A&M University

University of Texas Law School · Austin, TX  |  Texas A&M University Law School · Fort Worth, TX

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same state, similar selectivity in Texas — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

14.0%
Texas acceptance
12.1%
Texas A&M University acceptance
$3,006
3-year cost gap
3
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureTexasTexas A&M UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate13.99%12.10%+1.9
Median LSAT172169+3
Median GPA3.894−0
Annual tuition$38,236$32,634+5,602
3-year total cost$189,996$186,990+3,006
Median grant / year$23,375$26,048−2,673
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size373128+245
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill96.8%94.5%+2.3
Bar pass (1st time)96.4%95.3%+1.1

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Texas A&M University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureTexasTexas A&M UniversityGap
First-year class size373128+245
Annual tuition$38,236$32,634+5,602in dollars
Acceptance rate13.99%12.10%+1.9percentage points
Median grant / year$23,375$26,048−2,673in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)TexasTexas A&M University
Annual tuition$38,236$32,634
3-year total cost$189,996$186,990
Median grant / year$23,375$26,048
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureTexasTexas A&M University
First-time bar passage96.4%95.3%
Offer yield41.0%19.1%
Class fill96.8%94.5%
Students enrolled361121
First-year class size373128

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

TexasTexas A&M University
Admissions dataAll Texas admissions dataAll Texas A&M University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Texas A&M University pairings, and other alternatives to Texas.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Texas vs Texas A&M University?

Texas admitted 13.99% of applicants while Texas A&M University admitted 12.10%.

Which is cheaper, Texas or Texas A&M University?

Over three years, Texas A&M University costs $3,006 less. Texas runs $189,996 and Texas A&M University runs $186,990, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Texas or Texas A&M University?

Texas reports a median grant of $23,375 per year for full-time students, compared with $26,048 at Texas A&M University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for University of Texas Law School and Texas A&M University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.