Home / Compare / Richmond vs William & Mary Law School

Richmond vs William & Mary Law School

University of Richmond Law School · Richmond, VA  |  William & Mary Law School · Williamsburg, VA

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same state, similar selectivity in Virginia — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

39.6%
Richmond acceptance
22.0%
William & Mary Law School acceptance
$38,772
3-year cost gap
2
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureRichmondWilliam & Mary Law SchoolDifference
Acceptance rate39.64%21.97%+17.7
Median LSAT164166−2
Median GPA3.813.82−0
Annual tuition$57,700$38,734+18,966
3-year total cost$252,630$213,858+38,772
Median grant / year$40,000$29,302+10,698
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size146184−38
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill100.0%98.4%+1.6
Bar pass (1st time)91.3%92.8%−1.5

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to William & Mary Law School's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureRichmondWilliam & Mary Law SchoolGap
Acceptance rate39.64%21.97%+17.7percentage points
Annual tuition$57,700$38,734+18,966in dollars
Median grant / year$40,000$29,302+10,698in dollars
First-year class size146184−38

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)RichmondWilliam & Mary Law School
Annual tuition$57,700$38,734
3-year total cost$252,630$213,858
Median grant / year$40,000$29,302
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureRichmondWilliam & Mary Law School
First-time bar passage91.3%92.8%
Offer yield21.2%37.9%
Class fill100.0%98.4%
Students enrolled146181
First-year class size146184

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

RichmondWilliam & Mary Law School
Admissions dataAll Richmond admissions dataAll William & Mary Law School admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other William & Mary Law School pairings, and other alternatives to Richmond.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Richmond vs William & Mary Law School?

Richmond admitted 39.64% of applicants while William & Mary Law School admitted 21.97%.

Which is cheaper, Richmond or William & Mary Law School?

Over three years, William & Mary Law School costs $38,772 less. Richmond runs $252,630 and William & Mary Law School runs $213,858, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Richmond or William & Mary Law School?

Richmond reports a median grant of $40,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $29,302 at William & Mary Law School. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for University of Richmond Law School and William & Mary Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.