Home / Compare / Michigan State University vs Wayne State University

Michigan State University vs Wayne State University

Michigan State University Law School · East Lansing, MI  |  Wayne State University Law School · Detroit, MI

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same state, similar selectivity in Michigan — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

26.0%
Michigan State University acceptance
24.8%
Wayne State University acceptance
$9,882
3-year cost gap
2
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureMichigan State UniversityWayne State UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate26.02%24.81%+1.2
Median LSAT162164−2
Median GPA3.733.89−0
Annual tuition$43,480$38,861+4,619
3-year total cost$213,060$203,178+9,882
Median grant / year$42,682$34,636+8,046
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size150129+21
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill100.0%99.2%+0.8
Bar pass (1st time)77.3%73.8%+3.5

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Wayne State University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureMichigan State UniversityWayne State UniversityGap
Median grant / year$42,682$34,636+8,046in dollars
First-year class size150129+21
Annual tuition$43,480$38,861+4,619in dollars
Acceptance rate26.02%24.81%+1.2percentage points

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Michigan State UniversityWayne State University
Annual tuition$43,480$38,861
3-year total cost$213,060$203,178
Median grant / year$42,682$34,636
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureMichigan State UniversityWayne State University
First-time bar passage77.3%73.8%
Offer yield37.8%40.0%
Class fill100.0%99.2%
Students enrolled150128
First-year class size150129

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Michigan State UniversityWayne State University
Admissions dataAll Michigan State University admissions dataAll Wayne State University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Wayne State University pairings, and other alternatives to Michigan State University.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Michigan State University vs Wayne State University?

Michigan State University admitted 26.02% of applicants while Wayne State University admitted 24.81%.

Which is cheaper, Michigan State University or Wayne State University?

Over three years, Wayne State University costs $9,882 less. Michigan State University runs $213,060 and Wayne State University runs $203,178, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Michigan State University or Wayne State University?

Michigan State University reports a median grant of $42,682 per year for full-time students, compared with $34,636 at Wayne State University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Michigan State University Law School and Wayne State University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.