Home / Compare / Marquette University vs Wisconsin

Marquette University vs Wisconsin

Marquette University Law School · Milwaukee, WI  |  University of Wisconsin Law School · Madison, WI

This pairing is listed because these two schools are closest selectivity match in Wisconsin — see the note below for what this pairing does and does not mean.

This pairing exists because the school had no comparison page under the geographic rules. Both schools are in the same state at a similar selectivity level, which is the situation where applicants actually hesitate between them.

22.1%
Marquette University acceptance
19.1%
Wisconsin acceptance
$32,622
3-year cost gap
9
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureMarquette UniversityWisconsinDifference
Acceptance rate22.11%19.12%+3.0
Median LSAT158167−9
Median GPA3.73.81−0
Annual tuition$51,970$36,526+15,444
3-year total cost$222,348$189,726+32,622
Median grant / year$23,000$35,000−12,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size218224−6
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill100.0%98.2%+1.8
Bar pass (1st time)not reported75.0%—

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Wisconsin's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureMarquette UniversityWisconsinGap
Annual tuition$51,970$36,526+15,444in dollars
Median grant / year$23,000$35,000−12,000in dollars
3-year total cost$222,348$189,726+32,622in dollars
Acceptance rate22.11%19.12%+3.0percentage points

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Marquette UniversityWisconsin
Annual tuition$51,970$36,526
3-year total cost$222,348$189,726
Median grant / year$23,000$35,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureMarquette UniversityWisconsin
First-time bar passagenot reported75.0%
Offer yield46.7%46.4%
Class fill100.0%98.2%
Students enrolled218220
First-year class size218224

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Marquette UniversityWisconsin
Admissions dataAll Marquette University admissions dataAll Wisconsin admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Wisconsin pairings, and other alternatives to Marquette University.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Marquette University vs Wisconsin?

Marquette University admitted 22.11% of applicants while Wisconsin admitted 19.12%.

Which is cheaper, Marquette University or Wisconsin?

Over three years, Wisconsin costs $32,622 less. Marquette University runs $222,348 and Wisconsin runs $189,726, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Marquette University or Wisconsin?

Marquette University reports a median grant of $23,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $35,000 at Wisconsin. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Marquette University Law School and University of Wisconsin Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.