Home / Compare / Houston vs South Texas College of Law Houston

Houston vs South Texas College of Law Houston

University of Houston Law School · Houston, TX  |  South Texas College of Law Houston · Houston, TX

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in Houston — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

23.0%
Houston acceptance
33.6%
South Texas College of Law Houston acceptance
$109,830
3-year cost gap
8
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureHoustonSouth Texas College of Law HoustonDifference
Acceptance rate22.99%33.65%−10.7
Median LSAT163155+8
Median GPA3.793.41+0
Annual tuition$31,326$42,960−11,634
3-year total cost$195,924$305,754−109,830
Median grant / year$11,500$11,000+500
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size249437−188
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill98.8%99.3%−0.5
Bar pass (1st time)84.5%85.6%−1.1

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to South Texas College of Law Houston's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureHoustonSouth Texas College of Law HoustonGap
First-year class size249437−188
3-year total cost$195,924$305,754−109,830in dollars
Acceptance rate22.99%33.65%−10.7percentage points
Annual tuition$31,326$42,960−11,634in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)HoustonSouth Texas College of Law Houston
Annual tuition$31,326$42,960
3-year total cost$195,924$305,754
Median grant / year$11,500$11,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureHoustonSouth Texas College of Law Houston
First-time bar passage84.5%85.6%
Offer yield30.5%46.6%
Class fill98.8%99.3%
Students enrolled246434
First-year class size249437

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

HoustonSouth Texas College of Law Houston
Admissions dataAll Houston admissions dataAll South Texas College of Law Houston admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other South Texas College of Law Houston pairings, and other alternatives to Houston.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Houston vs South Texas College of Law Houston?

Houston admitted 22.99% of applicants while South Texas College of Law Houston admitted 33.65%.

Which is cheaper, Houston or South Texas College of Law Houston?

Over three years, Houston costs $109,830 less. Houston runs $195,924 and South Texas College of Law Houston runs $305,754, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Houston or South Texas College of Law Houston?

Houston reports a median grant of $11,500 per year for full-time students, compared with $11,000 at South Texas College of Law Houston. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for University of Houston Law School and South Texas College of Law Houston. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.