Home / Compare / Georgetown University vs Virginia

Georgetown University vs Virginia

Georgetown University Law School · Washington, DC  |  University of Virginia Law School · Charlottesville, VA

This pairing is listed because these two schools are both T14 — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

15.8%
Georgetown University acceptance
10.2%
Virginia acceptance
$32,433
3-year cost gap
2
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureGeorgetown UniversityVirginiaDifference
Acceptance rate15.75%10.17%+5.6
Median LSAT171173−2
Median GPA3.933.99−0
Annual tuition$83,576$74,078+9,498
3-year total cost$352,443$320,010+32,433
Median grant / year$35,000$35,000identical
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size672309+363
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill93.6%97.7%−4.1
Bar pass (1st time)94.5%95.1%−0.6

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Virginia's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureGeorgetown UniversityVirginiaGap
First-year class size672309+363
Acceptance rate15.75%10.17%+5.6percentage points
Annual tuition$83,576$74,078+9,498in dollars
3-year total cost$352,443$320,010+32,433in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Georgetown UniversityVirginia
Annual tuition$83,576$74,078
3-year total cost$352,443$320,010
Median grant / year$35,000$35,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureGeorgetown UniversityVirginia
First-time bar passage94.5%95.1%
Offer yield28.7%44.1%
Class fill93.6%97.7%
Students enrolled629302
First-year class size672309

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Georgetown UniversityVirginia
Admissions dataAll Georgetown University admissions dataAll Virginia admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Virginia pairings, and other alternatives to Georgetown University.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Georgetown University vs Virginia?

Georgetown University admitted 15.75% of applicants while Virginia admitted 10.17%.

Which is cheaper, Georgetown University or Virginia?

Over three years, Virginia costs $32,433 less. Georgetown University runs $352,443 and Virginia runs $320,010, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Georgetown University or Virginia?

Georgetown University reports a median grant of $35,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $35,000 at Virginia. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Georgetown University Law School and University of Virginia Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.