Home / Compare / George Washington University, The vs Georgetown University

George Washington University, The vs Georgetown University

George Washington University, The Law School · Washington, DC  |  Georgetown University Law School · Washington, DC

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city · same state, similar selectivity in Washington — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

27.2%
George Washington University, The acceptance
15.8%
Georgetown University acceptance
$50,463
3-year cost gap
3
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureGeorge Washington University, TheGeorgetown UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate27.21%15.75%+11.5
Median LSAT168171−3
Median GPA3.863.93−0
Annual tuition$75,420$83,576−8,156
3-year total cost$301,980$352,443−50,463
Median grant / year$28,000$35,000−7,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size612672−60
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill97.2%93.6%+3.6
Bar pass (1st time)87.7%94.5%−6.9

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Georgetown University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureGeorge Washington University, TheGeorgetown UniversityGap
Acceptance rate27.21%15.75%+11.5percentage points
Median grant / year$28,000$35,000−7,000in dollars
3-year total cost$301,980$352,443−50,463in dollars
Annual tuition$75,420$83,576−8,156in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)George Washington University, TheGeorgetown University
Annual tuition$75,420$83,576
3-year total cost$301,980$352,443
Median grant / year$28,000$35,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureGeorge Washington University, TheGeorgetown University
First-time bar passage87.7%94.5%
Offer yield22.5%28.7%
Class fill97.2%93.6%
Students enrolled595629
First-year class size612672

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

George Washington University, TheGeorgetown University
Admissions dataAll George Washington University, The admissions dataAll Georgetown University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Georgetown University pairings, and other alternatives to George Washington University, The.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at George Washington University, The vs Georgetown University?

George Washington University, The admitted 27.21% of applicants while Georgetown University admitted 15.75%.

Which is cheaper, George Washington University, The or Georgetown University?

Over three years, George Washington University, The costs $50,463 less. George Washington University, The runs $301,980 and Georgetown University runs $352,443, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, George Washington University, The or Georgetown University?

George Washington University, The reports a median grant of $28,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $35,000 at Georgetown University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for George Washington University, The Law School and Georgetown University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.