Home / Compare / Duke University vs North Carolina

Duke University vs North Carolina

Duke University Law School · Durham, NC  |  University of North Carolina Law School · Chapel Hill, NC

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same state, similar selectivity in North Carolina — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

12.9%
Duke University acceptance
11.2%
North Carolina acceptance
$152,115
3-year cost gap
3
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureDuke UniversityNorth CarolinaDifference
Acceptance rate12.88%11.19%+1.7
Median LSAT171168+3
Median GPA3.913.89+0
Annual tuition$80,100$28,082+52,018
3-year total cost$323,835$171,720+152,115
Median grant / year$35,000$17,000+18,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size227181+46
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill97.8%97.2%+0.6
Bar pass (1st time)98.2%94.1%+4.1

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to North Carolina's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureDuke UniversityNorth CarolinaGap
Annual tuition$80,100$28,082+52,018in dollars
Median grant / year$35,000$17,000+18,000in dollars
3-year total cost$323,835$171,720+152,115in dollars
First-year class size227181+46

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Duke UniversityNorth Carolina
Annual tuition$80,100$28,082
3-year total cost$323,835$171,720
Median grant / year$35,000$17,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureDuke UniversityNorth Carolina
First-time bar passage98.2%94.1%
Offer yield27.6%45.5%
Class fill97.8%97.2%
Students enrolled222176
First-year class size227181

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Duke UniversityNorth Carolina
Admissions dataAll Duke University admissions dataAll North Carolina admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other North Carolina pairings, and other alternatives to Duke University.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Duke University vs North Carolina?

Duke University admitted 12.88% of applicants while North Carolina admitted 11.19%.

Which is cheaper, Duke University or North Carolina?

Over three years, North Carolina costs $152,115 less. Duke University runs $323,835 and North Carolina runs $171,720, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Duke University or North Carolina?

Duke University reports a median grant of $35,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $17,000 at North Carolina. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Duke University Law School and University of North Carolina Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.