Home / Compare / Catholic University of America, The vs Georgetown University

Catholic University of America, The vs Georgetown University

Catholic University of America, The Law School · Washington, DC  |  Georgetown University Law School · Washington, DC

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in Washington — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

32.4%
Catholic University of America, The acceptance
15.8%
Georgetown University acceptance
$81,099
3-year cost gap
10
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureCatholic University of America, TheGeorgetown UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate32.40%15.75%+16.6
Median LSAT161171−10
Median GPA3.683.93−0
Annual tuition$61,580$83,576−21,996
3-year total cost$271,344$352,443−81,099
Median grant / year$26,000$35,000−9,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size182672−490
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill98.4%93.6%+4.8
Bar pass (1st time)90.4%94.5%−4.2

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Georgetown University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureCatholic University of America, TheGeorgetown UniversityGap
Acceptance rate32.40%15.75%+16.6percentage points
First-year class size182672−490
Annual tuition$61,580$83,576−21,996in dollars
Median grant / year$26,000$35,000−9,000in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Catholic University of America, TheGeorgetown University
Annual tuition$61,580$83,576
3-year total cost$271,344$352,443
Median grant / year$26,000$35,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureCatholic University of America, TheGeorgetown University
First-time bar passage90.4%94.5%
Offer yield29.6%28.7%
Class fill98.4%93.6%
Students enrolled179629
First-year class size182672

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Catholic University of America, TheGeorgetown University
Admissions dataAll Catholic University of America, The admissions dataAll Georgetown University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Georgetown University pairings, and other alternatives to Catholic University of America, The.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Catholic University of America, The vs Georgetown University?

Catholic University of America, The admitted 32.40% of applicants while Georgetown University admitted 15.75%.

Which is cheaper, Catholic University of America, The or Georgetown University?

Over three years, Catholic University of America, The costs $81,099 less. Catholic University of America, The runs $271,344 and Georgetown University runs $352,443, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Catholic University of America, The or Georgetown University?

Catholic University of America, The reports a median grant of $26,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $35,000 at Georgetown University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Catholic University of America, The Law School and Georgetown University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.