Home / Compare / Atlanta's John Marshall Law School vs Vermont Law School

Atlanta's John Marshall Law School vs Vermont Law School

Atlanta's John Marshall Law School · Atlanta, GA  |  Vermont Law School · South Royalton, VT

This pairing is listed because these two schools are closest selectivity match — see the note below for what this pairing does and does not mean.

One of these schools is the only law school in its state, so there is no local alternative to compare it against. This pairing matches the closest selectivity level found nationwide. The two are not practical alternatives for most applicants — the comparison is here so that every school on this site can be compared with something.

32.6%
Atlanta's John Marshall Law School acceptance
58.5%
Vermont Law School acceptance
$25,809
3-year cost gap
0
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureAtlanta's John Marshall Law SchoolVermont Law SchoolDifference
Acceptance rate32.65%58.53%−25.9
Median LSAT152152identical
Median GPA3.133.25−0
Annual tuition$52,536$55,382−2,846
3-year total cost$267,036$241,227+25,809
Median grant / year$4,500$28,000−23,500
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size138290−152
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill96.4%99.7%−3.3
Bar pass (1st time)63.8%67.9%−4.1

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Vermont Law School's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureAtlanta's John Marshall Law SchoolVermont Law SchoolGap
Median grant / year$4,500$28,000−23,500in dollars
First-year class size138290−152
Acceptance rate32.65%58.53%−25.9percentage points
3-year total cost$267,036$241,227+25,809in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Atlanta's John Marshall Law SchoolVermont Law School
Annual tuition$52,536$55,382
3-year total cost$267,036$241,227
Median grant / year$4,500$28,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureAtlanta's John Marshall Law SchoolVermont Law School
First-time bar passage63.8%67.9%
Offer yield32.0%31.8%
Class fill96.4%99.7%
Students enrolled133289
First-year class size138290

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Atlanta's John Marshall Law SchoolVermont Law School
Admissions dataAll Atlanta's John Marshall Law School admissions dataAll Vermont Law School admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Vermont Law School pairings, and other alternatives to Atlanta's John Marshall Law School.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Atlanta's John Marshall Law School vs Vermont Law School?

Atlanta's John Marshall Law School admitted 32.65% of applicants while Vermont Law School admitted 58.53%.

Which is cheaper, Atlanta's John Marshall Law School or Vermont Law School?

Over three years, Vermont Law School costs $25,809 less. Atlanta's John Marshall Law School runs $267,036 and Vermont Law School runs $241,227, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Atlanta's John Marshall Law School or Vermont Law School?

Atlanta's John Marshall Law School reports a median grant of $4,500 per year for full-time students, compared with $28,000 at Vermont Law School. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Atlanta's John Marshall Law School and Vermont Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.