Home / Compare / Washington and Lee University vs William & Mary Law School

Washington and Lee University vs William & Mary Law School

Washington and Lee University Law School · Lexington, VA  |  William & Mary Law School · Williamsburg, VA

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same state, similar selectivity in Virginia — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

22.7%
Washington and Lee University acceptance
22.0%
William & Mary Law School acceptance
$31,632
3-year cost gap
1
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureWashington and Lee UniversityWilliam & Mary Law SchoolDifference
Acceptance rate22.73%21.97%+0.8
Median LSAT167166+1
Median GPA3.753.82−0
Annual tuition$57,450$38,734+18,716
3-year total cost$245,490$213,858+31,632
Median grant / year$33,500$29,302+4,198
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size131184−53
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill97.7%98.4%−0.7
Bar pass (1st time)93.5%92.8%+0.7

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to William & Mary Law School's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureWashington and Lee UniversityWilliam & Mary Law SchoolGap
Annual tuition$57,450$38,734+18,716in dollars
First-year class size131184−53
3-year total cost$245,490$213,858+31,632in dollars
Median grant / year$33,500$29,302+4,198in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Washington and Lee UniversityWilliam & Mary Law School
Annual tuition$57,450$38,734
3-year total cost$245,490$213,858
Median grant / year$33,500$29,302
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureWashington and Lee UniversityWilliam & Mary Law School
First-time bar passage93.5%92.8%
Offer yield24.1%37.9%
Class fill97.7%98.4%
Students enrolled128181
First-year class size131184

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Washington and Lee UniversityWilliam & Mary Law School
Admissions dataAll Washington and Lee University admissions dataAll William & Mary Law School admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other William & Mary Law School pairings, and other alternatives to Washington and Lee University.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Washington and Lee University vs William & Mary Law School?

Washington and Lee University admitted 22.73% of applicants while William & Mary Law School admitted 21.97%.

Which is cheaper, Washington and Lee University or William & Mary Law School?

Over three years, William & Mary Law School costs $31,632 less. Washington and Lee University runs $245,490 and William & Mary Law School runs $213,858, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Washington and Lee University or William & Mary Law School?

Washington and Lee University reports a median grant of $33,500 per year for full-time students, compared with $29,302 at William & Mary Law School. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Washington and Lee University Law School and William & Mary Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.