Home / Compare / Stanford University vs Yale University

Stanford University vs Yale University

Stanford University Law School · Stanford, CA  |  Yale University Law School · New Haven, CT

This pairing is listed because these two schools are both T14 — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

6.1%
Stanford University acceptance
4.1%
Yale University acceptance
$66,789
3-year cost gap
1
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureStanford UniversityYale UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate6.10%4.06%+2.0
Median LSAT173174−1
Median GPA3.963.96identical
Annual tuition$77,454$76,636+818
3-year total cost$388,278$321,489+66,789
Median grant / year$52,797$34,747+18,050
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size193204−11
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill89.6%85.8%+3.9
Bar pass (1st time)99.4%98.5%+0.9

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Yale University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureStanford UniversityYale UniversityGap
Median grant / year$52,797$34,747+18,050in dollars
Acceptance rate6.10%4.06%+2.0percentage points
3-year total cost$388,278$321,489+66,789in dollars
First-year class size193204−11

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Stanford UniversityYale University
Annual tuition$77,454$76,636
3-year total cost$388,278$321,489
Median grant / year$52,797$34,747
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureStanford UniversityYale University
First-time bar passage99.4%98.5%
Offer yield51.3%77.4%
Class fill89.6%85.8%
Students enrolled173175
First-year class size193204

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Stanford UniversityYale University
Admissions dataAll Stanford University admissions dataAll Yale University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Yale University pairings, and other alternatives to Stanford University.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Stanford University vs Yale University?

Stanford University admitted 6.10% of applicants while Yale University admitted 4.06%.

Which is cheaper, Stanford University or Yale University?

Over three years, Yale University costs $66,789 less. Stanford University runs $388,278 and Yale University runs $321,489, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Stanford University or Yale University?

Stanford University reports a median grant of $52,797 per year for full-time students, compared with $34,747 at Yale University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Stanford University Law School and Yale University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.