Home / Compare / St. Mary's University vs Texas Southern University
St. Mary's University vs Texas Southern University
St. Mary's University Law School · San Antonio, TX | Texas Southern University Law School · Houston, TX
This pairing is listed because these two schools are same state, similar selectivity in Texas — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.
Side by side
All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.
| Measure | St. Mary's University | Texas Southern University | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 25.98% | 33.12% | −7.1 |
| Median LSAT | 153 | 150 | +3 |
| Median GPA | 3.49 | 3.33 | +0 |
| Annual tuition | $44,910 | $19,202 | +25,708 |
| 3-year total cost | $210,564 | $146,466 | +64,098 |
| Median grant / year | $12,500 | $7,363 | +5,137 |
| Net tuition after grant | not reported | not reported | — |
| First-year class size | 282 | 221 | +61 |
| Offer yield | not reported | not reported | — |
| Class fill | 96.8% | 93.7% | +3.1 |
| Bar pass (1st time) | 84.6% | 62.9% | +21.7 |
Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.
Where the two differ most
Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Texas Southern University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.
| Measure | St. Mary's University | Texas Southern University | Gap |
|---|---|---|---|
| Annual tuition | $44,910 | $19,202 | +25,708in dollars |
| Median grant / year | $12,500 | $7,363 | +5,137in dollars |
| 3-year total cost | $210,564 | $146,466 | +64,098in dollars |
| Bar pass (1st time) | 84.6% | 62.9% | +21.7 |
Cost compared
Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.
| Component (per year) | St. Mary's University | Texas Southern University |
|---|---|---|
| Annual tuition | $44,910 | $19,202 |
| 3-year total cost | $210,564 | $146,466 |
| Median grant / year | $12,500 | $7,363 |
| Net tuition after median grant | — | — |
Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.
Outcomes compared
| Measure | St. Mary's University | Texas Southern University |
|---|---|---|
| First-time bar passage | 84.6% | 62.9% |
| Offer yield | 36.2% | 30.8% |
| Class fill | 96.8% | 93.7% |
| Students enrolled | 273 | 207 |
| First-year class size | 282 | 221 |
The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.
Choosing between them
- There is no better school here, only a different one. These figures describe cohort averages. Where your own profile falls relative to a school's admitted range matters more than any published median.
- Cost is a family question, not a ranking. The three-year figure covers tuition, fees and published living costs. It does not include books, a laptop, travel home, or the income lost to three years of not working.
- Grant figures are history, not offers. Both medians describe past cohorts. Your award depends on your circumstances, the school's policy and its aid budget that year.
- Bar passage is heavily shaped by selectivity. A school that admits broadly and passes fewer of its own admittees is not necessarily providing a weaker education; the comparison is confounded by who each school chooses.
Full details on each school
| St. Mary's University | Texas Southern University | |
|---|---|---|
| Admissions data | All St. Mary's University admissions data | All Texas Southern University admissions data |
| Admissions funnel | Funnel & yield | Funnel & yield |
| Financial aid | Grants & aid bands | Grants & aid bands |
| Cost | Cost of attendance | Cost of attendance |
Other comparisons
Other Texas Southern University pairings, and other alternatives to St. Mary's University.
- No further pairings available for these two schools.
Common questions
What is the acceptance rate at St. Mary's University vs Texas Southern University?
St. Mary's University admitted 25.98% of applicants while Texas Southern University admitted 33.12%.
Which is cheaper, St. Mary's University or Texas Southern University?
Over three years, Texas Southern University costs $64,098 less. St. Mary's University runs $210,564 and Texas Southern University runs $146,466, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.
Which school offers more financial aid, St. Mary's University or Texas Southern University?
St. Mary's University reports a median grant of $12,500 per year for full-time students, compared with $7,363 at Texas Southern University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.
Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for St. Mary's University Law School and Texas Southern University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.