Home / Compare / Southwestern Law School vs the Pacific (McGeorge)

Southwestern Law School vs the Pacific (McGeorge)

Southwestern Law School · Los Angeles, CA  |  University of the Pacific (McGeorge) Law School · Sacramento, CA

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same state, similar selectivity in California — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

36.5%
Southwestern Law School acceptance
54.4%
the Pacific (McGeorge) acceptance
$3,522
3-year cost gap
1
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureSouthwestern Law Schoolthe Pacific (McGeorge)Difference
Acceptance rate36.47%54.41%−17.9
Median LSAT157156+1
Median GPA3.513.52−0
Annual tuition$63,160$62,678+482
3-year total cost$298,719$295,197+3,522
Median grant / year$29,166$30,426−1,260
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size459213+246
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill98.9%97.2%+1.7
Bar pass (1st time)72.1%71.1%+0.9

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to the Pacific (McGeorge)'s figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureSouthwestern Law Schoolthe Pacific (McGeorge)Gap
First-year class size459213+246
Acceptance rate36.47%54.41%−17.9percentage points
Median grant / year$29,166$30,426−1,260in dollars
Bar pass (1st time)72.1%71.1%+0.9

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Southwestern Law Schoolthe Pacific (McGeorge)
Annual tuition$63,160$62,678
3-year total cost$298,719$295,197
Median grant / year$29,166$30,426
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureSouthwestern Law Schoolthe Pacific (McGeorge)
First-time bar passage72.1%71.1%
Offer yield34.7%30.5%
Class fill98.9%97.2%
Students enrolled454207
First-year class size459213

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Southwestern Law Schoolthe Pacific (McGeorge)
Admissions dataAll Southwestern Law School admissions dataAll the Pacific (McGeorge) admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other the Pacific (McGeorge) pairings, and other alternatives to Southwestern Law School.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Southwestern Law School vs the Pacific (McGeorge)?

Southwestern Law School admitted 36.47% of applicants while the Pacific (McGeorge) admitted 54.41%.

Which is cheaper, Southwestern Law School or the Pacific (McGeorge)?

Over three years, the Pacific (McGeorge) costs $3,522 less. Southwestern Law School runs $298,719 and the Pacific (McGeorge) runs $295,197, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Southwestern Law School or the Pacific (McGeorge)?

Southwestern Law School reports a median grant of $29,166 per year for full-time students, compared with $30,426 at the Pacific (McGeorge). Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Southwestern Law School and University of the Pacific (McGeorge) Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.