Home / Compare / Southern Methodist University vs Texas A&M University

Southern Methodist University vs Texas A&M University

Southern Methodist University Law School · Dallas, TX  |  Texas A&M University Law School · Fort Worth, TX

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same state, similar selectivity in Texas — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

24.6%
Southern Methodist University acceptance
12.1%
Texas A&M University acceptance
$89,172
3-year cost gap
2
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureSouthern Methodist UniversityTexas A&M UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate24.59%12.10%+12.5
Median LSAT167169−2
Median GPA3.814−0
Annual tuition$60,844$32,634+28,210
3-year total cost$276,162$186,990+89,172
Median grant / year$26,000$26,048−48
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size254128+126
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill100.0%94.5%+5.5
Bar pass (1st time)97.8%95.3%+2.5

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Texas A&M University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureSouthern Methodist UniversityTexas A&M UniversityGap
Acceptance rate24.59%12.10%+12.5percentage points
First-year class size254128+126
Annual tuition$60,844$32,634+28,210in dollars
3-year total cost$276,162$186,990+89,172in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Southern Methodist UniversityTexas A&M University
Annual tuition$60,844$32,634
3-year total cost$276,162$186,990
Median grant / year$26,000$26,048
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureSouthern Methodist UniversityTexas A&M University
First-time bar passage97.8%95.3%
Offer yield34.0%19.1%
Class fill100.0%94.5%
Students enrolled254121
First-year class size254128

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Southern Methodist UniversityTexas A&M University
Admissions dataAll Southern Methodist University admissions dataAll Texas A&M University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Texas A&M University pairings, and other alternatives to Southern Methodist University.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Southern Methodist University vs Texas A&M University?

Southern Methodist University admitted 24.59% of applicants while Texas A&M University admitted 12.10%.

Which is cheaper, Southern Methodist University or Texas A&M University?

Over three years, Texas A&M University costs $89,172 less. Southern Methodist University runs $276,162 and Texas A&M University runs $186,990, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Southern Methodist University or Texas A&M University?

Southern Methodist University reports a median grant of $26,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $26,048 at Texas A&M University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Southern Methodist University Law School and Texas A&M University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.