Home / Compare / Southern California vs Southwestern Law School

Southern California vs Southwestern Law School

University of Southern California Law School · Los Angeles, CA  |  Southwestern Law School · Los Angeles, CA

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in Los Angeles — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

11.2%
Southern California acceptance
36.5%
Southwestern Law School acceptance
$54,183
3-year cost gap
12
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureSouthern CaliforniaSouthwestern Law SchoolDifference
Acceptance rate11.17%36.47%−25.3
Median LSAT169157+12
Median GPA3.913.51+0
Annual tuition$84,034$63,160+20,874
3-year total cost$352,902$298,719+54,183
Median grant / year$40,092$29,166+10,926
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size228459−231
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill99.6%98.9%+0.7
Bar pass (1st time)94.1%72.1%+22.1

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Southwestern Law School's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureSouthern CaliforniaSouthwestern Law SchoolGap
Acceptance rate11.17%36.47%−25.3percentage points
First-year class size228459−231
Median grant / year$40,092$29,166+10,926in dollars
Annual tuition$84,034$63,160+20,874in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Southern CaliforniaSouthwestern Law School
Annual tuition$84,034$63,160
3-year total cost$352,902$298,719
Median grant / year$40,092$29,166
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureSouthern CaliforniaSouthwestern Law School
First-time bar passage94.1%72.1%
Offer yield28.2%34.7%
Class fill99.6%98.9%
Students enrolled227454
First-year class size228459

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Southern CaliforniaSouthwestern Law School
Admissions dataAll Southern California admissions dataAll Southwestern Law School admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Southwestern Law School pairings, and other alternatives to Southern California.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Southern California vs Southwestern Law School?

Southern California admitted 11.17% of applicants while Southwestern Law School admitted 36.47%.

Which is cheaper, Southern California or Southwestern Law School?

Over three years, Southwestern Law School costs $54,183 less. Southern California runs $352,902 and Southwestern Law School runs $298,719, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Southern California or Southwestern Law School?

Southern California reports a median grant of $40,092 per year for full-time students, compared with $29,166 at Southwestern Law School. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for University of Southern California Law School and Southwestern Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.