Home / Compare / San Francisco vs Western State College of Law (Westcliff University)

San Francisco vs Western State College of Law (Westcliff University)

University of San Francisco Law School · San Francisco, CA  |  Western State College of Law (Westcliff University) · Irvine, CA

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same state, similar selectivity in California — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

42.4%
San Francisco acceptance
43.7%
Western State College of Law (Westcliff University) acceptance
$14,928
3-year cost gap
3
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureSan FranciscoWestern State College of Law (Westcliff University)Difference
Acceptance rate42.38%43.67%−1.3
Median LSAT155152+3
Median GPA3.473.36+0
Annual tuition$59,800$54,840+4,960
3-year total cost$278,292$263,364+14,928
Median grant / year$33,718$23,616+10,102
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size201117+84
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill98.5%96.6%+1.9
Bar pass (1st time)80.9%81.1%−0.2

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Western State College of Law (Westcliff University)'s figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureSan FranciscoWestern State College of Law (Westcliff University)Gap
First-year class size201117+84
Median grant / year$33,718$23,616+10,102in dollars
Annual tuition$59,800$54,840+4,960in dollars
3-year total cost$278,292$263,364+14,928in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)San FranciscoWestern State College of Law (Westcliff University)
Annual tuition$59,800$54,840
3-year total cost$278,292$263,364
Median grant / year$33,718$23,616
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureSan FranciscoWestern State College of Law (Westcliff University)
First-time bar passage80.9%81.1%
Offer yield22.2%28.2%
Class fill98.5%96.6%
Students enrolled198113
First-year class size201117

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

San FranciscoWestern State College of Law (Westcliff University)
Admissions dataAll San Francisco admissions dataAll Western State College of Law (Westcliff University) admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Western State College of Law (Westcliff University) pairings, and other alternatives to San Francisco.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at San Francisco vs Western State College of Law (Westcliff University)?

San Francisco admitted 42.38% of applicants while Western State College of Law (Westcliff University) admitted 43.67%.

Which is cheaper, San Francisco or Western State College of Law (Westcliff University)?

Over three years, Western State College of Law (Westcliff University) costs $14,928 less. San Francisco runs $278,292 and Western State College of Law (Westcliff University) runs $263,364, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, San Francisco or Western State College of Law (Westcliff University)?

San Francisco reports a median grant of $33,718 per year for full-time students, compared with $23,616 at Western State College of Law (Westcliff University). Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for University of San Francisco Law School and Western State College of Law (Westcliff University). Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.