Home / Compare / Saint Louis University vs Washington University (St. Louis)

Saint Louis University vs Washington University (St. Louis)

Saint Louis University Law School · St. Louis, MO  |  Washington University (St. Louis) Law School · St. Louis, MO

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in St. Louis — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

56.4%
Saint Louis University acceptance
19.0%
Washington University (St. Louis) acceptance
$59,955
3-year cost gap
18
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureSaint Louis UniversityWashington University (St. Louis)Difference
Acceptance rate56.43%18.96%+37.5
Median LSAT157175−18
Median GPA3.613.96−0
Annual tuition$55,260$72,792−17,532
3-year total cost$246,906$306,861−59,955
Median grant / year$25,000$48,000−23,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size222261−39
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill99.1%98.9%+0.2
Bar pass (1st time)89.1%89.6%−0.5

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Washington University (St. Louis)'s figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureSaint Louis UniversityWashington University (St. Louis)Gap
Acceptance rate56.43%18.96%+37.5percentage points
Median grant / year$25,000$48,000−23,000in dollars
Annual tuition$55,260$72,792−17,532in dollars
3-year total cost$246,906$306,861−59,955in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Saint Louis UniversityWashington University (St. Louis)
Annual tuition$55,260$72,792
3-year total cost$246,906$306,861
Median grant / year$25,000$48,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureSaint Louis UniversityWashington University (St. Louis)
First-time bar passage89.1%89.6%
Offer yield41.4%24.2%
Class fill99.1%98.9%
Students enrolled220258
First-year class size222261

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Saint Louis UniversityWashington University (St. Louis)
Admissions dataAll Saint Louis University admissions dataAll Washington University (St. Louis) admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Washington University (St. Louis) pairings, and other alternatives to Saint Louis University.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Saint Louis University vs Washington University (St. Louis)?

Saint Louis University admitted 56.43% of applicants while Washington University (St. Louis) admitted 18.96%.

Which is cheaper, Saint Louis University or Washington University (St. Louis)?

Over three years, Saint Louis University costs $59,955 less. Saint Louis University runs $246,906 and Washington University (St. Louis) runs $306,861, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Saint Louis University or Washington University (St. Louis)?

Saint Louis University reports a median grant of $25,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $48,000 at Washington University (St. Louis). Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Saint Louis University Law School and Washington University (St. Louis) Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.