Home / Compare / Rutgers University vs Seton Hall University

Rutgers University vs Seton Hall University

Rutgers University Law School · Newark, NJ  |  Seton Hall University Law School · Newark, NJ

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city · same state, similar selectivity in Newark — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

33.5%
Rutgers University acceptance
34.3%
Seton Hall University acceptance
$128,445
3-year cost gap
3
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureRutgers UniversitySeton Hall UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate33.54%34.27%−0.7
Median LSAT158161−3
Median GPA3.663.71−0
Annual tuition$31,577$69,660−38,083
3-year total cost$171,849$300,294−128,445
Median grant / year$16,000$40,000−24,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size489302+187
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill98.2%99.3%−1.2
Bar pass (1st time)79.1%87.1%−8.0

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Seton Hall University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureRutgers UniversitySeton Hall UniversityGap
First-year class size489302+187
Median grant / year$16,000$40,000−24,000in dollars
Annual tuition$31,577$69,660−38,083in dollars
3-year total cost$171,849$300,294−128,445in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Rutgers UniversitySeton Hall University
Annual tuition$31,577$69,660
3-year total cost$171,849$300,294
Median grant / year$16,000$40,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureRutgers UniversitySeton Hall University
First-time bar passage79.1%87.1%
Offer yield33.2%32.3%
Class fill98.2%99.3%
Students enrolled480300
First-year class size489302

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Rutgers UniversitySeton Hall University
Admissions dataAll Rutgers University admissions dataAll Seton Hall University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Seton Hall University pairings, and other alternatives to Rutgers University.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Rutgers University vs Seton Hall University?

Rutgers University admitted 33.54% of applicants while Seton Hall University admitted 34.27%.

Which is cheaper, Rutgers University or Seton Hall University?

Over three years, Rutgers University costs $128,445 less. Rutgers University runs $171,849 and Seton Hall University runs $300,294, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Rutgers University or Seton Hall University?

Rutgers University reports a median grant of $16,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $40,000 at Seton Hall University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Rutgers University Law School and Seton Hall University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.