Home / Compare / Quinnipiac University vs Yale University

Quinnipiac University vs Yale University

Quinnipiac University Law School · North Haven, CT  |  Yale University Law School · New Haven, CT

This pairing is listed because these two schools are closest selectivity match in Connecticut — see the note below for what this pairing does and does not mean.

This pairing exists because the school had no comparison page under the geographic rules. Both schools are in the same state at a similar selectivity level, which is the situation where applicants actually hesitate between them.

43.1%
Quinnipiac University acceptance
4.1%
Yale University acceptance
$60,387
3-year cost gap
19
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureQuinnipiac UniversityYale UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate43.10%4.06%+39.0
Median LSAT155174−19
Median GPA3.653.96−0
Annual tuition$56,610$76,636−20,026
3-year total cost$261,102$321,489−60,387
Median grant / year$25,000$34,747−9,747
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size135204−69
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill98.5%85.8%+12.7
Bar pass (1st time)75.4%98.5%−23.1

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Yale University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureQuinnipiac UniversityYale UniversityGap
Acceptance rate43.10%4.06%+39.0percentage points
First-year class size135204−69
Median grant / year$25,000$34,747−9,747in dollars
Annual tuition$56,610$76,636−20,026in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Quinnipiac UniversityYale University
Annual tuition$56,610$76,636
3-year total cost$261,102$321,489
Median grant / year$25,000$34,747
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureQuinnipiac UniversityYale University
First-time bar passage75.4%98.5%
Offer yield20.8%77.4%
Class fill98.5%85.8%
Students enrolled133175
First-year class size135204

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Quinnipiac UniversityYale University
Admissions dataAll Quinnipiac University admissions dataAll Yale University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Yale University pairings, and other alternatives to Quinnipiac University.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Quinnipiac University vs Yale University?

Quinnipiac University admitted 43.10% of applicants while Yale University admitted 4.06%.

Which is cheaper, Quinnipiac University or Yale University?

Over three years, Quinnipiac University costs $60,387 less. Quinnipiac University runs $261,102 and Yale University runs $321,489, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Quinnipiac University or Yale University?

Quinnipiac University reports a median grant of $25,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $34,747 at Yale University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Quinnipiac University Law School and Yale University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.