Home / Compare / Pennsylvania vs Villanova University

Pennsylvania vs Villanova University

University of Pennsylvania Law School · Philadelphia, PA  |  Villanova University Law School · Philadelphia, PA

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in Philadelphia — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

8.1%
Pennsylvania acceptance
25.9%
Villanova University acceptance
$89,670
3-year cost gap
9
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasurePennsylvaniaVillanova UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate8.05%25.93%−17.9
Median LSAT173164+9
Median GPA3.953.8+0
Annual tuition$78,348$59,800+18,548
3-year total cost$348,396$258,726+89,670
Median grant / year$42,246$40,000+2,246
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size265232+33
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill95.8%99.6%−3.7
Bar pass (1st time)94.4%90.0%+4.5

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Villanova University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasurePennsylvaniaVillanova UniversityGap
Acceptance rate8.05%25.93%−17.9percentage points
3-year total cost$348,396$258,726+89,670in dollars
Annual tuition$78,348$59,800+18,548in dollars
First-year class size265232+33

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)PennsylvaniaVillanova University
Annual tuition$78,348$59,800
3-year total cost$348,396$258,726
Median grant / year$42,246$40,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasurePennsylvaniaVillanova University
First-time bar passage94.4%90.0%
Offer yield39.1%30.8%
Class fill95.8%99.6%
Students enrolled254231
First-year class size265232

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

PennsylvaniaVillanova University
Admissions dataAll Pennsylvania admissions dataAll Villanova University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Villanova University pairings, and other alternatives to Pennsylvania.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Pennsylvania vs Villanova University?

Pennsylvania admitted 8.05% of applicants while Villanova University admitted 25.93%.

Which is cheaper, Pennsylvania or Villanova University?

Over three years, Villanova University costs $89,670 less. Pennsylvania runs $348,396 and Villanova University runs $258,726, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Pennsylvania or Villanova University?

Pennsylvania reports a median grant of $42,246 per year for full-time students, compared with $40,000 at Villanova University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for University of Pennsylvania Law School and Villanova University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.