Home / Compare / Penn State Dickinson Law vs Pittsburgh

Penn State Dickinson Law vs Pittsburgh

Penn State Dickinson Law · Carlisle, PA  |  University of Pittsburgh Law School · Pittsburgh, PA

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same state, similar selectivity in Pennsylvania — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

43.0%
Penn State Dickinson Law acceptance
34.9%
Pittsburgh acceptance
$82,206
3-year cost gap
1
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasurePenn State Dickinson LawPittsburghDifference
Acceptance rate42.99%34.87%+8.1
Median LSAT159160−1
Median GPA3.713.54+0
Annual tuition$60,048$39,936+20,112
3-year total cost$268,143$185,937+82,206
Median grant / year$36,000$30,000+6,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size215155+60
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill96.7%100.0%−3.3
Bar pass (1st time)87.6%93.0%−5.5

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Pittsburgh's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasurePenn State Dickinson LawPittsburghGap
Annual tuition$60,048$39,936+20,112in dollars
3-year total cost$268,143$185,937+82,206in dollars
First-year class size215155+60
Acceptance rate42.99%34.87%+8.1percentage points

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Penn State Dickinson LawPittsburgh
Annual tuition$60,048$39,936
3-year total cost$268,143$185,937
Median grant / year$36,000$30,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasurePenn State Dickinson LawPittsburgh
First-time bar passage87.6%93.0%
Offer yield25.3%27.7%
Class fill96.7%100.0%
Students enrolled208155
First-year class size215155

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Penn State Dickinson LawPittsburgh
Admissions dataAll Penn State Dickinson Law admissions dataAll Pittsburgh admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Pittsburgh pairings, and other alternatives to Penn State Dickinson Law.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Penn State Dickinson Law vs Pittsburgh?

Penn State Dickinson Law admitted 42.99% of applicants while Pittsburgh admitted 34.87%.

Which is cheaper, Penn State Dickinson Law or Pittsburgh?

Over three years, Pittsburgh costs $82,206 less. Penn State Dickinson Law runs $268,143 and Pittsburgh runs $185,937, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Penn State Dickinson Law or Pittsburgh?

Penn State Dickinson Law reports a median grant of $36,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $30,000 at Pittsburgh. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Penn State Dickinson Law and University of Pittsburgh Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.