Home / Compare / Oregon vs Willamette University

Oregon vs Willamette University

University of Oregon Law School · Eugene, OR  |  Willamette University Law School · Salem, OR

This pairing is listed because these two schools are closest selectivity match in Oregon — see the note below for what this pairing does and does not mean.

This pairing exists because the school had no comparison page under the geographic rules. Both schools are in the same state at a similar selectivity level, which is the situation where applicants actually hesitate between them.

55.0%
Oregon acceptance
61.4%
Willamette University acceptance
$26,628
3-year cost gap
6
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureOregonWillamette UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate54.97%61.42%−6.5
Median LSAT160154+6
Median GPA3.623.48+0
Annual tuition$47,240$56,600−9,360
3-year total cost$211,896$238,524−26,628
Median grant / year$25,000$20,000+5,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size186139+47
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill99.5%100.0%−0.5
Bar pass (1st time)79.2%64.6%+14.6

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Willamette University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureOregonWillamette UniversityGap
First-year class size186139+47
Median grant / year$25,000$20,000+5,000in dollars
Bar pass (1st time)79.2%64.6%+14.6
Annual tuition$47,240$56,600−9,360in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)OregonWillamette University
Annual tuition$47,240$56,600
3-year total cost$211,896$238,524
Median grant / year$25,000$20,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureOregonWillamette University
First-time bar passage79.2%64.6%
Offer yield18.2%26.4%
Class fill99.5%100.0%
Students enrolled185139
First-year class size186139

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

OregonWillamette University
Admissions dataAll Oregon admissions dataAll Willamette University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Willamette University pairings, and other alternatives to Oregon.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Oregon vs Willamette University?

Oregon admitted 54.97% of applicants while Willamette University admitted 61.42%.

Which is cheaper, Oregon or Willamette University?

Over three years, Oregon costs $26,628 less. Oregon runs $211,896 and Willamette University runs $238,524, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Oregon or Willamette University?

Oregon reports a median grant of $25,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $20,000 at Willamette University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for University of Oregon Law School and Willamette University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.