Home / Compare / Northwestern University vs Stanford University

Northwestern University vs Stanford University

Northwestern University Law School · Chicago, IL  |  Stanford University Law School · Stanford, CA

This pairing is listed because these two schools are both T14 — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

12.3%
Northwestern University acceptance
6.1%
Stanford University acceptance
$61,719
3-year cost gap
0
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureNorthwestern UniversityStanford UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate12.30%6.10%+6.2
Median LSAT173173identical
Median GPA3.963.96identical
Annual tuition$79,772$77,454+2,318
3-year total cost$326,559$388,278−61,719
Median grant / year$40,000$52,797−12,797
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size250193+57
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill98.0%89.6%+8.4
Bar pass (1st time)91.8%99.4%−7.6

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Stanford University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureNorthwestern UniversityStanford UniversityGap
Acceptance rate12.30%6.10%+6.2percentage points
First-year class size250193+57
Median grant / year$40,000$52,797−12,797in dollars
3-year total cost$326,559$388,278−61,719in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Northwestern UniversityStanford University
Annual tuition$79,772$77,454
3-year total cost$326,559$388,278
Median grant / year$40,000$52,797
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureNorthwestern UniversityStanford University
First-time bar passage91.8%99.4%
Offer yield25.0%51.3%
Class fill98.0%89.6%
Students enrolled245173
First-year class size250193

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Northwestern UniversityStanford University
Admissions dataAll Northwestern University admissions dataAll Stanford University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Stanford University pairings, and other alternatives to Northwestern University.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Northwestern University vs Stanford University?

Northwestern University admitted 12.30% of applicants while Stanford University admitted 6.10%.

Which is cheaper, Northwestern University or Stanford University?

Over three years, Northwestern University costs $61,719 less. Northwestern University runs $326,559 and Stanford University runs $388,278, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Northwestern University or Stanford University?

Northwestern University reports a median grant of $40,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $52,797 at Stanford University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Northwestern University Law School and Stanford University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.