Home / Compare / Northeastern University vs Suffolk University

Northeastern University vs Suffolk University

Northeastern University Law School · Boston, MA  |  Suffolk University Law School · Boston, MA

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in Boston — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

24.2%
Northeastern University acceptance
61.9%
Suffolk University acceptance
$30,006
3-year cost gap
9
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureNortheastern UniversitySuffolk UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate24.22%61.85%−37.6
Median LSAT164155+9
Median GPA3.773.58+0
Annual tuition$65,652$62,610+3,042
3-year total cost$266,250$296,256−30,006
Median grant / year$31,000$22,445+8,555
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size283544−261
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill98.6%99.1%−0.5
Bar pass (1st time)90.5%80.8%+9.8

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Suffolk University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureNortheastern UniversitySuffolk UniversityGap
Acceptance rate24.22%61.85%−37.6percentage points
First-year class size283544−261
Median grant / year$31,000$22,445+8,555in dollars
Bar pass (1st time)90.5%80.8%+9.8

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Northeastern UniversitySuffolk University
Annual tuition$65,652$62,610
3-year total cost$266,250$296,256
Median grant / year$31,000$22,445
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureNortheastern UniversitySuffolk University
First-time bar passage90.5%80.8%
Offer yield20.4%25.0%
Class fill98.6%99.1%
Students enrolled279539
First-year class size283544

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Northeastern UniversitySuffolk University
Admissions dataAll Northeastern University admissions dataAll Suffolk University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Suffolk University pairings, and other alternatives to Northeastern University.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Northeastern University vs Suffolk University?

Northeastern University admitted 24.22% of applicants while Suffolk University admitted 61.85%.

Which is cheaper, Northeastern University or Suffolk University?

Over three years, Northeastern University costs $30,006 less. Northeastern University runs $266,250 and Suffolk University runs $296,256, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Northeastern University or Suffolk University?

Northeastern University reports a median grant of $31,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $22,445 at Suffolk University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Northeastern University Law School and Suffolk University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.