Home / Compare / North Texas at Dallas vs South Texas College of Law Houston

North Texas at Dallas vs South Texas College of Law Houston

University of North Texas at Dallas Law School · Dallas, TX  |  South Texas College of Law Houston · Houston, TX

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same state, similar selectivity in Texas — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

24.2%
North Texas at Dallas acceptance
33.6%
South Texas College of Law Houston acceptance
—
3-year cost gap
2
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureNorth Texas at DallasSouth Texas College of Law HoustonDifference
Acceptance rate24.22%33.65%−9.4
Median LSAT153155−2
Median GPA3.413.41identical
Annual tuition$562/credit$42,960—
3-year total costnot reported$305,754—
Median grant / year$5,000$11,000−6,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size130437−307
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill97.7%99.3%−1.6
Bar pass (1st time)79.7%85.6%−5.9

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to South Texas College of Law Houston's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureNorth Texas at DallasSouth Texas College of Law HoustonGap
First-year class size130437−307
Median grant / year$5,000$11,000−6,000in dollars
Acceptance rate24.22%33.65%−9.4percentage points
Bar pass (1st time)79.7%85.6%−5.9

Cost compared

A full three-year cost cannot be computed for both schools from the 509 disclosures available here. At least one reports tuition per credit hour rather than an annual figure, and no annual estimate is made.

Outcomes compared

MeasureNorth Texas at DallasSouth Texas College of Law Houston
First-time bar passage79.7%85.6%
Offer yield27.9%46.6%
Class fill97.7%99.3%
Students enrolled127434
First-year class size130437

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

North Texas at DallasSouth Texas College of Law Houston
Admissions dataAll North Texas at Dallas admissions dataAll South Texas College of Law Houston admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other South Texas College of Law Houston pairings, and other alternatives to North Texas at Dallas.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at North Texas at Dallas vs South Texas College of Law Houston?

North Texas at Dallas admitted 24.22% of applicants while South Texas College of Law Houston admitted 33.65%.

Which school offers more financial aid, North Texas at Dallas or South Texas College of Law Houston?

North Texas at Dallas reports a median grant of $5,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $11,000 at South Texas College of Law Houston. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for University of North Texas at Dallas Law School and South Texas College of Law Houston. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.