Home / Compare / New York Law School vs St. John's University
New York Law School vs St. John's University
New York Law School · New York City, NY | St. John's University Law School · New York City, NY
This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in New York City — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.
Side by side
All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.
| Measure | New York Law School | St. John's University | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 39.67% | 23.05% | +16.6 |
| Median LSAT | 157 | 164 | −7 |
| Median GPA | 3.63 | 3.81 | −0 |
| Annual tuition | $71,052 | $75,170 | −4,118 |
| 3-year total cost | $291,849 | $322,704 | −30,855 |
| Median grant / year | $40,000 | $60,000 | −20,000 |
| Net tuition after grant | not reported | not reported | — |
| First-year class size | 409 | 241 | +168 |
| Offer yield | not reported | not reported | — |
| Class fill | 97.8% | 98.8% | −1.0 |
| Bar pass (1st time) | 86.5% | 87.5% | −1.1 |
Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.
Where the two differ most
Ranked by the size of the gap relative to St. John's University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.
| Measure | New York Law School | St. John's University | Gap |
|---|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 39.67% | 23.05% | +16.6percentage points |
| First-year class size | 409 | 241 | +168 |
| Median grant / year | $40,000 | $60,000 | −20,000in dollars |
| 3-year total cost | $291,849 | $322,704 | −30,855in dollars |
Cost compared
Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.
| Component (per year) | New York Law School | St. John's University |
|---|---|---|
| Annual tuition | $71,052 | $75,170 |
| 3-year total cost | $291,849 | $322,704 |
| Median grant / year | $40,000 | $60,000 |
| Net tuition after median grant | — | — |
Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.
Outcomes compared
| Measure | New York Law School | St. John's University |
|---|---|---|
| First-time bar passage | 86.5% | 87.5% |
| Offer yield | 24.5% | 23.4% |
| Class fill | 97.8% | 98.8% |
| Students enrolled | 400 | 238 |
| First-year class size | 409 | 241 |
The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.
Choosing between them
- There is no better school here, only a different one. These figures describe cohort averages. Where your own profile falls relative to a school's admitted range matters more than any published median.
- Cost is a family question, not a ranking. The three-year figure covers tuition, fees and published living costs. It does not include books, a laptop, travel home, or the income lost to three years of not working.
- Grant figures are history, not offers. Both medians describe past cohorts. Your award depends on your circumstances, the school's policy and its aid budget that year.
- Bar passage is heavily shaped by selectivity. A school that admits broadly and passes fewer of its own admittees is not necessarily providing a weaker education; the comparison is confounded by who each school chooses.
Full details on each school
| New York Law School | St. John's University | |
|---|---|---|
| Admissions data | All New York Law School admissions data | All St. John's University admissions data |
| Admissions funnel | Funnel & yield | Funnel & yield |
| Financial aid | Grants & aid bands | Grants & aid bands |
| Cost | Cost of attendance | Cost of attendance |
Other comparisons
Other St. John's University pairings, and other alternatives to New York Law School.
- No further pairings available for these two schools.
Common questions
What is the acceptance rate at New York Law School vs St. John's University?
New York Law School admitted 39.67% of applicants while St. John's University admitted 23.05%.
Which is cheaper, New York Law School or St. John's University?
Over three years, New York Law School costs $30,855 less. New York Law School runs $291,849 and St. John's University runs $322,704, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.
Which school offers more financial aid, New York Law School or St. John's University?
New York Law School reports a median grant of $40,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $60,000 at St. John's University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.
Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for New York Law School and St. John's University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.