Home / Compare / New Mexico vs University at Buffalo

New Mexico vs University at Buffalo

The University of New Mexico Law School · Albuquerque, NM  |  University at Buffalo Law School · Buffalo, NY

This pairing is listed because these two schools are closest selectivity match — see the note below for what this pairing does and does not mean.

One of these schools is the only law school in its state, so there is no local alternative to compare it against. This pairing matches the closest selectivity level found nationwide. The two are not practical alternatives for most applicants — the comparison is here so that every school on this site can be compared with something.

41.4%
New Mexico acceptance
42.4%
University at Buffalo acceptance
$31,290
3-year cost gap
0
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureNew MexicoUniversity at BuffaloDifference
Acceptance rate41.41%42.37%−1.0
Median LSAT157157identical
Median GPA3.563.71−0
Annual tuition$19,474$26,430−6,956
3-year total cost$132,402$163,692−31,290
Median grant / year$10,000$7,500+2,500
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size108167−59
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill94.4%97.6%−3.2
Bar pass (1st time)77.0%88.5%−11.5

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to University at Buffalo's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureNew MexicoUniversity at BuffaloGap
First-year class size108167−59
Median grant / year$10,000$7,500+2,500in dollars
Annual tuition$19,474$26,430−6,956in dollars
3-year total cost$132,402$163,692−31,290in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)New MexicoUniversity at Buffalo
Annual tuition$19,474$26,430
3-year total cost$132,402$163,692
Median grant / year$10,000$7,500
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureNew MexicoUniversity at Buffalo
First-time bar passage77.0%88.5%
Offer yield38.5%39.4%
Class fill94.4%97.6%
Students enrolled102163
First-year class size108167

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

New MexicoUniversity at Buffalo
Admissions dataAll New Mexico admissions dataAll University at Buffalo admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other University at Buffalo pairings, and other alternatives to New Mexico.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at New Mexico vs University at Buffalo?

New Mexico admitted 41.41% of applicants while University at Buffalo admitted 42.37%.

Which is cheaper, New Mexico or University at Buffalo?

Over three years, New Mexico costs $31,290 less. New Mexico runs $132,402 and University at Buffalo runs $163,692, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, New Mexico or University at Buffalo?

New Mexico reports a median grant of $10,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $7,500 at University at Buffalo. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for The University of New Mexico Law School and University at Buffalo Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.