Home / Compare / Mitchell/Hamline School of Law vs St. Thomas (Minnesota)

Mitchell/Hamline School of Law vs St. Thomas (Minnesota)

Mitchell/Hamline School of Law · Saint Paul, MN  |  University of St. Thomas (Minnesota) Law School · Minneapolis, MN

This pairing is listed because these two schools are closest selectivity match in Minnesota — see the note below for what this pairing does and does not mean.

This pairing exists because the school had no comparison page under the geographic rules. Both schools are in the same state at a similar selectivity level, which is the situation where applicants actually hesitate between them.

51.4%
Mitchell/Hamline School of Law acceptance
57.6%
St. Thomas (Minnesota) acceptance
$17,676
3-year cost gap
5
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureMitchell/Hamline School of LawSt. Thomas (Minnesota)Difference
Acceptance rate51.40%57.62%−6.2
Median LSAT154159−5
Median GPA3.293.72−0
Annual tuition$55,300$50,998+4,302
3-year total cost$219,444$237,120−17,676
Median grant / year$34,730$26,865+7,865
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size364168+196
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill98.9%97.6%+1.3
Bar pass (1st time)72.0%85.1%−13.2

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to St. Thomas (Minnesota)'s figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureMitchell/Hamline School of LawSt. Thomas (Minnesota)Gap
First-year class size364168+196
Median grant / year$34,730$26,865+7,865in dollars
Bar pass (1st time)72.0%85.1%−13.2
Acceptance rate51.40%57.62%−6.2percentage points

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Mitchell/Hamline School of LawSt. Thomas (Minnesota)
Annual tuition$55,300$50,998
3-year total cost$219,444$237,120
Median grant / year$34,730$26,865
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureMitchell/Hamline School of LawSt. Thomas (Minnesota)
First-time bar passage72.0%85.1%
Offer yield43.7%33.6%
Class fill98.9%97.6%
Students enrolled360164
First-year class size364168

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Mitchell/Hamline School of LawSt. Thomas (Minnesota)
Admissions dataAll Mitchell/Hamline School of Law admissions dataAll St. Thomas (Minnesota) admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other St. Thomas (Minnesota) pairings, and other alternatives to Mitchell/Hamline School of Law.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Mitchell/Hamline School of Law vs St. Thomas (Minnesota)?

Mitchell/Hamline School of Law admitted 51.40% of applicants while St. Thomas (Minnesota) admitted 57.62%.

Which is cheaper, Mitchell/Hamline School of Law or St. Thomas (Minnesota)?

Over three years, Mitchell/Hamline School of Law costs $17,676 less. Mitchell/Hamline School of Law runs $219,444 and St. Thomas (Minnesota) runs $237,120, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Mitchell/Hamline School of Law or St. Thomas (Minnesota)?

Mitchell/Hamline School of Law reports a median grant of $34,730 per year for full-time students, compared with $26,865 at St. Thomas (Minnesota). Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Mitchell/Hamline School of Law and University of St. Thomas (Minnesota) Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.