Home / Compare / Missouri vs South Carolina

Missouri vs South Carolina

University of Missouri Law School · Columbia, MO  |  University of South Carolina Law School · Columbia, SC

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in Columbia — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

42.0%
Missouri acceptance
29.9%
South Carolina acceptance
—
3-year cost gap
1
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureMissouriSouth CarolinaDifference
Acceptance rate41.98%29.90%+12.1
Median LSAT161162−1
Median GPA3.723.67+0
Annual tuition$812/credit$20,322—
3-year total costnot reported$148,242—
Median grant / year$17,500$12,562+4,938
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size129221−92
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill96.9%97.3%−0.4
Bar pass (1st time)86.2%90.0%−3.9

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to South Carolina's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureMissouriSouth CarolinaGap
First-year class size129221−92
Acceptance rate41.98%29.90%+12.1percentage points
Median grant / year$17,500$12,562+4,938in dollars
Bar pass (1st time)86.2%90.0%−3.9

Cost compared

A full three-year cost cannot be computed for both schools from the 509 disclosures available here. At least one reports tuition per credit hour rather than an annual figure, and no annual estimate is made.

Outcomes compared

MeasureMissouriSouth Carolina
First-time bar passage86.2%90.0%
Offer yield37.3%34.0%
Class fill96.9%97.3%
Students enrolled125215
First-year class size129221

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

MissouriSouth Carolina
Admissions dataAll Missouri admissions dataAll South Carolina admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other South Carolina pairings, and other alternatives to Missouri.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Missouri vs South Carolina?

Missouri admitted 41.98% of applicants while South Carolina admitted 29.90%.

Which school offers more financial aid, Missouri or South Carolina?

Missouri reports a median grant of $17,500 per year for full-time students, compared with $12,562 at South Carolina. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for University of Missouri Law School and University of South Carolina Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.