Home / Compare / Minnesota vs St. Thomas (Minnesota)

Minnesota vs St. Thomas (Minnesota)

University of Minnesota Law School · Minneapolis, MN  |  University of St. Thomas (Minnesota) Law School · Minneapolis, MN

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in Minneapolis — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

26.7%
Minnesota acceptance
57.6%
St. Thomas (Minnesota) acceptance
$15,966
3-year cost gap
12
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureMinnesotaSt. Thomas (Minnesota)Difference
Acceptance rate26.70%57.62%−30.9
Median LSAT171159+12
Median GPA3.883.72+0
Annual tuition$51,440$50,998+442
3-year total cost$221,154$237,120−15,966
Median grant / year$35,000$26,865+8,135
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size228168+60
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill98.7%97.6%+1.1
Bar pass (1st time)95.3%85.1%+10.2

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to St. Thomas (Minnesota)'s figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureMinnesotaSt. Thomas (Minnesota)Gap
Acceptance rate26.70%57.62%−30.9percentage points
First-year class size228168+60
Median grant / year$35,000$26,865+8,135in dollars
Bar pass (1st time)95.3%85.1%+10.2

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)MinnesotaSt. Thomas (Minnesota)
Annual tuition$51,440$50,998
3-year total cost$221,154$237,120
Median grant / year$35,000$26,865
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureMinnesotaSt. Thomas (Minnesota)
First-time bar passage95.3%85.1%
Offer yield24.8%33.6%
Class fill98.7%97.6%
Students enrolled225164
First-year class size228168

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

MinnesotaSt. Thomas (Minnesota)
Admissions dataAll Minnesota admissions dataAll St. Thomas (Minnesota) admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other St. Thomas (Minnesota) pairings, and other alternatives to Minnesota.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Minnesota vs St. Thomas (Minnesota)?

Minnesota admitted 26.70% of applicants while St. Thomas (Minnesota) admitted 57.62%.

Which is cheaper, Minnesota or St. Thomas (Minnesota)?

Over three years, Minnesota costs $15,966 less. Minnesota runs $221,154 and St. Thomas (Minnesota) runs $237,120, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Minnesota or St. Thomas (Minnesota)?

Minnesota reports a median grant of $35,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $26,865 at St. Thomas (Minnesota). Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for University of Minnesota Law School and University of St. Thomas (Minnesota) Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.