Home / Compare / Michigan vs Yale University

Michigan vs Yale University

University of Michigan Law School · Ann Arbor, MI  |  Yale University Law School · New Haven, CT

This pairing is listed because these two schools are both T14 — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

8.6%
Michigan acceptance
4.1%
Yale University acceptance
$10,791
3-year cost gap
3
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureMichiganYale UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate8.57%4.06%+4.5
Median LSAT171174−3
Median GPA3.883.96−0
Annual tuition$76,108$76,636−528
3-year total cost$310,698$321,489−10,791
Median grant / year$32,000$34,747−2,747
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size343204+139
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill95.9%85.8%+10.1
Bar pass (1st time)94.2%98.5%−4.4

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Yale University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureMichiganYale UniversityGap
Acceptance rate8.57%4.06%+4.5percentage points
First-year class size343204+139
Median grant / year$32,000$34,747−2,747in dollars
Bar pass (1st time)94.2%98.5%−4.4

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)MichiganYale University
Annual tuition$76,108$76,636
3-year total cost$310,698$321,489
Median grant / year$32,000$34,747
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureMichiganYale University
First-time bar passage94.2%98.5%
Offer yield42.7%77.4%
Class fill95.9%85.8%
Students enrolled329175
First-year class size343204

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

MichiganYale University
Admissions dataAll Michigan admissions dataAll Yale University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Yale University pairings, and other alternatives to Michigan.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Michigan vs Yale University?

Michigan admitted 8.57% of applicants while Yale University admitted 4.06%.

Which is cheaper, Michigan or Yale University?

Over three years, Michigan costs $10,791 less. Michigan runs $310,698 and Yale University runs $321,489, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Michigan or Yale University?

Michigan reports a median grant of $32,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $34,747 at Yale University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for University of Michigan Law School and Yale University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.