Home / Compare / Michigan vs Virginia

Michigan vs Virginia

University of Michigan Law School · Ann Arbor, MI  |  University of Virginia Law School · Charlottesville, VA

This pairing is listed because these two schools are both T14 — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

8.6%
Michigan acceptance
10.2%
Virginia acceptance
$9,312
3-year cost gap
2
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureMichiganVirginiaDifference
Acceptance rate8.57%10.17%−1.6
Median LSAT171173−2
Median GPA3.883.99−0
Annual tuition$76,108$74,078+2,030
3-year total cost$310,698$320,010−9,312
Median grant / year$32,000$35,000−3,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size343309+34
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill95.9%97.7%−1.8
Bar pass (1st time)94.2%95.1%−1.0

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Virginia's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureMichiganVirginiaGap
Acceptance rate8.57%10.17%−1.6percentage points
First-year class size343309+34
Median grant / year$32,000$35,000−3,000in dollars
3-year total cost$310,698$320,010−9,312in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)MichiganVirginia
Annual tuition$76,108$74,078
3-year total cost$310,698$320,010
Median grant / year$32,000$35,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureMichiganVirginia
First-time bar passage94.2%95.1%
Offer yield42.7%44.1%
Class fill95.9%97.7%
Students enrolled329302
First-year class size343309

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

MichiganVirginia
Admissions dataAll Michigan admissions dataAll Virginia admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Virginia pairings, and other alternatives to Michigan.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Michigan vs Virginia?

Michigan admitted 8.57% of applicants while Virginia admitted 10.17%.

Which is cheaper, Michigan or Virginia?

Over three years, Michigan costs $9,312 less. Michigan runs $310,698 and Virginia runs $320,010, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Michigan or Virginia?

Michigan reports a median grant of $32,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $35,000 at Virginia. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for University of Michigan Law School and University of Virginia Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.