Home / Compare / Michigan vs Pennsylvania

Michigan vs Pennsylvania

University of Michigan Law School · Ann Arbor, MI  |  University of Pennsylvania Law School · Philadelphia, PA

This pairing is listed because these two schools are both T14 — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

8.6%
Michigan acceptance
8.1%
Pennsylvania acceptance
$37,698
3-year cost gap
2
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureMichiganPennsylvaniaDifference
Acceptance rate8.57%8.05%+0.5
Median LSAT171173−2
Median GPA3.883.95−0
Annual tuition$76,108$78,348−2,240
3-year total cost$310,698$348,396−37,698
Median grant / year$32,000$42,246−10,246
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size343265+78
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill95.9%95.8%+0.1
Bar pass (1st time)94.2%94.4%−0.3

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Pennsylvania's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureMichiganPennsylvaniaGap
First-year class size343265+78
Median grant / year$32,000$42,246−10,246in dollars
3-year total cost$310,698$348,396−37,698in dollars
Acceptance rate8.57%8.05%+0.5percentage points

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)MichiganPennsylvania
Annual tuition$76,108$78,348
3-year total cost$310,698$348,396
Median grant / year$32,000$42,246
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureMichiganPennsylvania
First-time bar passage94.2%94.4%
Offer yield42.7%39.1%
Class fill95.9%95.8%
Students enrolled329254
First-year class size343265

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

MichiganPennsylvania
Admissions dataAll Michigan admissions dataAll Pennsylvania admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Pennsylvania pairings, and other alternatives to Michigan.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Michigan vs Pennsylvania?

Michigan admitted 8.57% of applicants while Pennsylvania admitted 8.05%.

Which is cheaper, Michigan or Pennsylvania?

Over three years, Michigan costs $37,698 less. Michigan runs $310,698 and Pennsylvania runs $348,396, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Michigan or Pennsylvania?

Michigan reports a median grant of $32,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $42,246 at Pennsylvania. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for University of Michigan Law School and University of Pennsylvania Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.