Home / Compare / Miami vs St. Thomas University (Florida)

Miami vs St. Thomas University (Florida)

University of Miami Law School · Miami, FL  |  St. Thomas University (Florida) Law School · Miami, FL

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in Miami — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

24.6%
Miami acceptance
60.3%
St. Thomas University (Florida) acceptance
$92,376
3-year cost gap
12
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureMiamiSt. Thomas University (Florida)Difference
Acceptance rate24.65%60.25%−35.6
Median LSAT164152+12
Median GPA3.793.42+0
Annual tuition$66,720$44,730+21,990
3-year total cost$339,426$247,050+92,376
Median grant / year$47,000$25,320+21,680
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size313431−118
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill97.8%94.9%+2.9
Bar pass (1st time)85.3%87.1%−1.8

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to St. Thomas University (Florida)'s figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureMiamiSt. Thomas University (Florida)Gap
Median grant / year$47,000$25,320+21,680in dollars
Acceptance rate24.65%60.25%−35.6percentage points
Annual tuition$66,720$44,730+21,990in dollars
3-year total cost$339,426$247,050+92,376in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)MiamiSt. Thomas University (Florida)
Annual tuition$66,720$44,730
3-year total cost$339,426$247,050
Median grant / year$47,000$25,320
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureMiamiSt. Thomas University (Florida)
First-time bar passage85.3%87.1%
Offer yield27.0%38.3%
Class fill97.8%94.9%
Students enrolled306409
First-year class size313431

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

MiamiSt. Thomas University (Florida)
Admissions dataAll Miami admissions dataAll St. Thomas University (Florida) admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other St. Thomas University (Florida) pairings, and other alternatives to Miami.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Miami vs St. Thomas University (Florida)?

Miami admitted 24.65% of applicants while St. Thomas University (Florida) admitted 60.25%.

Which is cheaper, Miami or St. Thomas University (Florida)?

Over three years, St. Thomas University (Florida) costs $92,376 less. Miami runs $339,426 and St. Thomas University (Florida) runs $247,050, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Miami or St. Thomas University (Florida)?

Miami reports a median grant of $47,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $25,320 at St. Thomas University (Florida). Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for University of Miami Law School and St. Thomas University (Florida) Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.