Home / Compare / Massachusetts Dartmouth vs Western New England University
Massachusetts Dartmouth vs Western New England University
University of Massachusetts Dartmouth Law School · Dartmouth, MA | Western New England University Law School · Springfield, MA
This pairing is listed because these two schools are same state, similar selectivity in Massachusetts — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.
Side by side
All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.
| Measure | Massachusetts Dartmouth | Western New England University | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 52.17% | 51.89% | +0.3 |
| Median LSAT | 152 | 153 | −1 |
| Median GPA | 3.36 | 3.27 | +0 |
| Annual tuition | $31,766 | $50,320 | −18,554 |
| 3-year total cost | $167,244 | $221,253 | −54,009 |
| Median grant / year | $15,000 | $30,000 | −15,000 |
| Net tuition after grant | not reported | not reported | — |
| First-year class size | 141 | 115 | +26 |
| Offer yield | not reported | not reported | — |
| Class fill | 97.9% | 97.4% | +0.5 |
| Bar pass (1st time) | 62.6% | 68.0% | −5.4 |
Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.
Where the two differ most
Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Western New England University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.
| Measure | Massachusetts Dartmouth | Western New England University | Gap |
|---|---|---|---|
| Median grant / year | $15,000 | $30,000 | −15,000in dollars |
| Annual tuition | $31,766 | $50,320 | −18,554in dollars |
| 3-year total cost | $167,244 | $221,253 | −54,009in dollars |
| First-year class size | 141 | 115 | +26 |
Cost compared
Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.
| Component (per year) | Massachusetts Dartmouth | Western New England University |
|---|---|---|
| Annual tuition | $31,766 | $50,320 |
| 3-year total cost | $167,244 | $221,253 |
| Median grant / year | $15,000 | $30,000 |
| Net tuition after median grant | — | — |
Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.
Outcomes compared
| Measure | Massachusetts Dartmouth | Western New England University |
|---|---|---|
| First-time bar passage | 62.6% | 68.0% |
| Offer yield | 20.2% | 24.8% |
| Class fill | 97.9% | 97.4% |
| Students enrolled | 138 | 112 |
| First-year class size | 141 | 115 |
The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.
Choosing between them
- There is no better school here, only a different one. These figures describe cohort averages. Where your own profile falls relative to a school's admitted range matters more than any published median.
- Cost is a family question, not a ranking. The three-year figure covers tuition, fees and published living costs. It does not include books, a laptop, travel home, or the income lost to three years of not working.
- Grant figures are history, not offers. Both medians describe past cohorts. Your award depends on your circumstances, the school's policy and its aid budget that year.
- Bar passage is heavily shaped by selectivity. A school that admits broadly and passes fewer of its own admittees is not necessarily providing a weaker education; the comparison is confounded by who each school chooses.
Full details on each school
| Massachusetts Dartmouth | Western New England University | |
|---|---|---|
| Admissions data | All Massachusetts Dartmouth admissions data | All Western New England University admissions data |
| Admissions funnel | Funnel & yield | Funnel & yield |
| Financial aid | Grants & aid bands | Grants & aid bands |
| Cost | Cost of attendance | Cost of attendance |
Other comparisons
Other Western New England University pairings, and other alternatives to Massachusetts Dartmouth.
- No further pairings available for these two schools.
Common questions
What is the acceptance rate at Massachusetts Dartmouth vs Western New England University?
Massachusetts Dartmouth admitted 52.17% of applicants while Western New England University admitted 51.89%.
Which is cheaper, Massachusetts Dartmouth or Western New England University?
Over three years, Massachusetts Dartmouth costs $54,009 less. Massachusetts Dartmouth runs $167,244 and Western New England University runs $221,253, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.
Which school offers more financial aid, Massachusetts Dartmouth or Western New England University?
Massachusetts Dartmouth reports a median grant of $15,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $30,000 at Western New England University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.
Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for University of Massachusetts Dartmouth Law School and Western New England University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.