Home / Compare / Loyola University-New Orleans vs Tulane University

Loyola University-New Orleans vs Tulane University

Loyola University-New Orleans Law School · New Orleans, LA  |  Tulane University Law School · New Orleans, LA

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in New Orleans — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

50.9%
Loyola University-New Orleans acceptance
40.0%
Tulane University acceptance
$54,981
3-year cost gap
7
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureLoyola University-New OrleansTulane UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate50.93%39.97%+11.0
Median LSAT154161−7
Median GPA3.473.67−0
Annual tuition$55,024$69,578−14,554
3-year total cost$258,297$313,278−54,981
Median grant / year$26,000$37,500−11,500
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size223241−18
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill98.7%99.2%−0.5
Bar pass (1st time)71.2%76.1%−5.0

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Tulane University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureLoyola University-New OrleansTulane UniversityGap
Median grant / year$26,000$37,500−11,500in dollars
Acceptance rate50.93%39.97%+11.0percentage points
Annual tuition$55,024$69,578−14,554in dollars
3-year total cost$258,297$313,278−54,981in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Loyola University-New OrleansTulane University
Annual tuition$55,024$69,578
3-year total cost$258,297$313,278
Median grant / year$26,000$37,500
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureLoyola University-New OrleansTulane University
First-time bar passage71.2%76.1%
Offer yield34.8%28.9%
Class fill98.7%99.2%
Students enrolled220239
First-year class size223241

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Loyola University-New OrleansTulane University
Admissions dataAll Loyola University-New Orleans admissions dataAll Tulane University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Tulane University pairings, and other alternatives to Loyola University-New Orleans.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Loyola University-New Orleans vs Tulane University?

Loyola University-New Orleans admitted 50.93% of applicants while Tulane University admitted 39.97%.

Which is cheaper, Loyola University-New Orleans or Tulane University?

Over three years, Loyola University-New Orleans costs $54,981 less. Loyola University-New Orleans runs $258,297 and Tulane University runs $313,278, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Loyola University-New Orleans or Tulane University?

Loyola University-New Orleans reports a median grant of $26,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $37,500 at Tulane University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Loyola University-New Orleans Law School and Tulane University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.