Home / Compare / Loyola University-Chicago vs Northwestern University

Loyola University-Chicago vs Northwestern University

Loyola University-Chicago Law School · Chicago, IL  |  Northwestern University Law School · Chicago, IL

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in Chicago — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

28.2%
Loyola University-Chicago acceptance
12.3%
Northwestern University acceptance
$49,587
3-year cost gap
12
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureLoyola University-ChicagoNorthwestern UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate28.18%12.30%+15.9
Median LSAT161173−12
Median GPA3.73.96−0
Annual tuition$58,670$79,772−21,102
3-year total cost$276,972$326,559−49,587
Median grant / year$30,000$40,000−10,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size296250+46
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill98.3%98.0%+0.3
Bar pass (1st time)85.7%91.8%−6.1

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Northwestern University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureLoyola University-ChicagoNorthwestern UniversityGap
Acceptance rate28.18%12.30%+15.9percentage points
Annual tuition$58,670$79,772−21,102in dollars
Median grant / year$30,000$40,000−10,000in dollars
First-year class size296250+46

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Loyola University-ChicagoNorthwestern University
Annual tuition$58,670$79,772
3-year total cost$276,972$326,559
Median grant / year$30,000$40,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureLoyola University-ChicagoNorthwestern University
First-time bar passage85.7%91.8%
Offer yield24.3%25.0%
Class fill98.3%98.0%
Students enrolled291245
First-year class size296250

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Loyola University-ChicagoNorthwestern University
Admissions dataAll Loyola University-Chicago admissions dataAll Northwestern University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Northwestern University pairings, and other alternatives to Loyola University-Chicago.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Loyola University-Chicago vs Northwestern University?

Loyola University-Chicago admitted 28.18% of applicants while Northwestern University admitted 12.30%.

Which is cheaper, Loyola University-Chicago or Northwestern University?

Over three years, Loyola University-Chicago costs $49,587 less. Loyola University-Chicago runs $276,972 and Northwestern University runs $326,559, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Loyola University-Chicago or Northwestern University?

Loyola University-Chicago reports a median grant of $30,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $40,000 at Northwestern University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Loyola University-Chicago Law School and Northwestern University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.