Home / Compare / Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles vs Southern California

Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles vs Southern California

Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles Law School · Los Angeles, CA  |  University of Southern California Law School · Los Angeles, CA

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in Los Angeles — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

26.1%
Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles acceptance
11.2%
Southern California acceptance
$9,654
3-year cost gap
6
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureLoyola Marymount University-Los AngelesSouthern CaliforniaDifference
Acceptance rate26.05%11.17%+14.9
Median LSAT163169−6
Median GPA3.743.91−0
Annual tuition$70,360$84,034−13,674
3-year total cost$343,248$352,902−9,654
Median grant / year$45,000$40,092+4,908
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size338228+110
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill98.5%99.6%−1.0
Bar pass (1st time)79.7%94.1%−14.4

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Southern California's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureLoyola Marymount University-Los AngelesSouthern CaliforniaGap
Acceptance rate26.05%11.17%+14.9percentage points
First-year class size338228+110
Annual tuition$70,360$84,034−13,674in dollars
Bar pass (1st time)79.7%94.1%−14.4

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Loyola Marymount University-Los AngelesSouthern California
Annual tuition$70,360$84,034
3-year total cost$343,248$352,902
Median grant / year$45,000$40,092
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureLoyola Marymount University-Los AngelesSouthern California
First-time bar passage79.7%94.1%
Offer yield28.1%28.2%
Class fill98.5%99.6%
Students enrolled333227
First-year class size338228

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Loyola Marymount University-Los AngelesSouthern California
Admissions dataAll Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles admissions dataAll Southern California admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Southern California pairings, and other alternatives to Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles vs Southern California?

Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles admitted 26.05% of applicants while Southern California admitted 11.17%.

Which is cheaper, Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles or Southern California?

Over three years, Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles costs $9,654 less. Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles runs $343,248 and Southern California runs $352,902, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles or Southern California?

Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles reports a median grant of $45,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $40,092 at Southern California. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles Law School and University of Southern California Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.