Home / Compare / Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles vs Pepperdine University
Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles vs Pepperdine University
Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles Law School · Los Angeles, CA | Pepperdine University Law School · Los Angeles, CA
This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in Los Angeles — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.
Side by side
All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.
| Measure | Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles | Pepperdine University | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 26.05% | 23.36% | +2.7 |
| Median LSAT | 163 | 164 | −1 |
| Median GPA | 3.74 | 3.85 | −0 |
| Annual tuition | $70,360 | $72,920 | −2,560 |
| 3-year total cost | $343,248 | $321,750 | +21,498 |
| Median grant / year | $45,000 | $30,000 | +15,000 |
| Net tuition after grant | not reported | not reported | — |
| First-year class size | 338 | 227 | +111 |
| Offer yield | not reported | not reported | — |
| Class fill | 98.5% | 98.2% | +0.3 |
| Bar pass (1st time) | 79.7% | 90.7% | −11.0 |
Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.
Where the two differ most
Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Pepperdine University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.
| Measure | Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles | Pepperdine University | Gap |
|---|---|---|---|
| Median grant / year | $45,000 | $30,000 | +15,000in dollars |
| First-year class size | 338 | 227 | +111 |
| Bar pass (1st time) | 79.7% | 90.7% | −11.0 |
| Acceptance rate | 26.05% | 23.36% | +2.7percentage points |
Cost compared
Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.
| Component (per year) | Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles | Pepperdine University |
|---|---|---|
| Annual tuition | $70,360 | $72,920 |
| 3-year total cost | $343,248 | $321,750 |
| Median grant / year | $45,000 | $30,000 |
| Net tuition after median grant | — | — |
Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.
Outcomes compared
| Measure | Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles | Pepperdine University |
|---|---|---|
| First-time bar passage | 79.7% | 90.7% |
| Offer yield | 28.1% | 22.3% |
| Class fill | 98.5% | 98.2% |
| Students enrolled | 333 | 223 |
| First-year class size | 338 | 227 |
The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.
Choosing between them
- There is no better school here, only a different one. These figures describe cohort averages. Where your own profile falls relative to a school's admitted range matters more than any published median.
- Cost is a family question, not a ranking. The three-year figure covers tuition, fees and published living costs. It does not include books, a laptop, travel home, or the income lost to three years of not working.
- Grant figures are history, not offers. Both medians describe past cohorts. Your award depends on your circumstances, the school's policy and its aid budget that year.
- Bar passage is heavily shaped by selectivity. A school that admits broadly and passes fewer of its own admittees is not necessarily providing a weaker education; the comparison is confounded by who each school chooses.
Full details on each school
| Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles | Pepperdine University | |
|---|---|---|
| Admissions data | All Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles admissions data | All Pepperdine University admissions data |
| Admissions funnel | Funnel & yield | Funnel & yield |
| Financial aid | Grants & aid bands | Grants & aid bands |
| Cost | Cost of attendance | Cost of attendance |
Other comparisons
Other Pepperdine University pairings, and other alternatives to Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles.
- No further pairings available for these two schools.
Common questions
What is the acceptance rate at Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles vs Pepperdine University?
Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles admitted 26.05% of applicants while Pepperdine University admitted 23.36%.
Which is cheaper, Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles or Pepperdine University?
Over three years, Pepperdine University costs $21,498 less. Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles runs $343,248 and Pepperdine University runs $321,750, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.
Which school offers more financial aid, Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles or Pepperdine University?
Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles reports a median grant of $45,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $30,000 at Pepperdine University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.
Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles Law School and Pepperdine University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.