Home / Compare / Louisville vs Northern Kentucky University

Louisville vs Northern Kentucky University

University of Louisville Law School · Louisville, KY  |  Northern Kentucky University Law School · Highland Heights, KY

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same state, similar selectivity in Kentucky — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

63.4%
Louisville acceptance
58.7%
Northern Kentucky University acceptance
$27,165
3-year cost gap
3
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureLouisvilleNorthern Kentucky UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate63.39%58.70%+4.7
Median LSAT157154+3
Median GPA3.673.41+0
Annual tuition$27,000$24,388+2,612
3-year total cost$151,977$124,812+27,165
Median grant / year$12,000$18,000−6,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size145155−10
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill99.3%94.8%+4.5
Bar pass (1st time)84.5%76.2%+8.3

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Northern Kentucky University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureLouisvilleNorthern Kentucky UniversityGap
Median grant / year$12,000$18,000−6,000in dollars
3-year total cost$151,977$124,812+27,165in dollars
Bar pass (1st time)84.5%76.2%+8.3
Annual tuition$27,000$24,388+2,612in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)LouisvilleNorthern Kentucky University
Annual tuition$27,000$24,388
3-year total cost$151,977$124,812
Median grant / year$12,000$18,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureLouisvilleNorthern Kentucky University
First-time bar passage84.5%76.2%
Offer yield39.2%37.9%
Class fill99.3%94.8%
Students enrolled144147
First-year class size145155

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

LouisvilleNorthern Kentucky University
Admissions dataAll Louisville admissions dataAll Northern Kentucky University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Northern Kentucky University pairings, and other alternatives to Louisville.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Louisville vs Northern Kentucky University?

Louisville admitted 63.39% of applicants while Northern Kentucky University admitted 58.70%.

Which is cheaper, Louisville or Northern Kentucky University?

Over three years, Northern Kentucky University costs $27,165 less. Louisville runs $151,977 and Northern Kentucky University runs $124,812, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Louisville or Northern Kentucky University?

Louisville reports a median grant of $12,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $18,000 at Northern Kentucky University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for University of Louisville Law School and Northern Kentucky University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.