Home / Compare / Louisiana State University vs Southern University

Louisiana State University vs Southern University

Louisiana State University Law School · Baton Rouge, LA  |  Southern University Law School · Baton Rouge, LA

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in Baton Rouge — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

38.5%
Louisiana State University acceptance
56.5%
Southern University acceptance
$1,185
3-year cost gap
10
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureLouisiana State UniversitySouthern UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate38.55%56.55%−18.0
Median LSAT157147+10
Median GPA3.743.15+1
Annual tuition$19,750$11,338+8,412
3-year total cost$152,097$153,282−1,185
Median grant / year$19,750$11,000+8,750
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size230300−70
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill99.1%93.7%+5.5
Bar pass (1st time)85.4%68.1%+17.3

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Southern University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureLouisiana State UniversitySouthern UniversityGap
Median grant / year$19,750$11,000+8,750in dollars
Annual tuition$19,750$11,338+8,412in dollars
Acceptance rate38.55%56.55%−18.0percentage points
Bar pass (1st time)85.4%68.1%+17.3

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Louisiana State UniversitySouthern University
Annual tuition$19,750$11,338
3-year total cost$152,097$153,282
Median grant / year$19,750$11,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureLouisiana State UniversitySouthern University
First-time bar passage85.4%68.1%
Offer yield47.2%43.1%
Class fill99.1%93.7%
Students enrolled228281
First-year class size230300

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Louisiana State UniversitySouthern University
Admissions dataAll Louisiana State University admissions dataAll Southern University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Southern University pairings, and other alternatives to Louisiana State University.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Louisiana State University vs Southern University?

Louisiana State University admitted 38.55% of applicants while Southern University admitted 56.55%.

Which is cheaper, Louisiana State University or Southern University?

Over three years, Louisiana State University costs $1,185 less. Louisiana State University runs $152,097 and Southern University runs $153,282, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Louisiana State University or Southern University?

Louisiana State University reports a median grant of $19,750 per year for full-time students, compared with $11,000 at Southern University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Louisiana State University Law School and Southern University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.