Home / Compare / Louisiana State University vs Loyola University-New Orleans
Louisiana State University vs Loyola University-New Orleans
Louisiana State University Law School · Baton Rouge, LA | Loyola University-New Orleans Law School · New Orleans, LA
This pairing is listed because these two schools are same state, similar selectivity in Louisiana — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.
Side by side
All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.
| Measure | Louisiana State University | Loyola University-New Orleans | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 38.55% | 50.93% | −12.4 |
| Median LSAT | 157 | 154 | +3 |
| Median GPA | 3.74 | 3.47 | +0 |
| Annual tuition | $19,750 | $55,024 | −35,274 |
| 3-year total cost | $152,097 | $258,297 | −106,200 |
| Median grant / year | $19,750 | $26,000 | −6,250 |
| Net tuition after grant | not reported | not reported | — |
| First-year class size | 230 | 223 | +7 |
| Offer yield | not reported | not reported | — |
| Class fill | 99.1% | 98.7% | +0.5 |
| Bar pass (1st time) | 85.4% | 71.2% | +14.2 |
Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.
Where the two differ most
Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Loyola University-New Orleans's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.
| Measure | Louisiana State University | Loyola University-New Orleans | Gap |
|---|---|---|---|
| Annual tuition | $19,750 | $55,024 | −35,274in dollars |
| 3-year total cost | $152,097 | $258,297 | −106,200in dollars |
| Acceptance rate | 38.55% | 50.93% | −12.4percentage points |
| Median grant / year | $19,750 | $26,000 | −6,250in dollars |
Cost compared
Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.
| Component (per year) | Louisiana State University | Loyola University-New Orleans |
|---|---|---|
| Annual tuition | $19,750 | $55,024 |
| 3-year total cost | $152,097 | $258,297 |
| Median grant / year | $19,750 | $26,000 |
| Net tuition after median grant | — | — |
Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.
Outcomes compared
| Measure | Louisiana State University | Loyola University-New Orleans |
|---|---|---|
| First-time bar passage | 85.4% | 71.2% |
| Offer yield | 47.2% | 34.8% |
| Class fill | 99.1% | 98.7% |
| Students enrolled | 228 | 220 |
| First-year class size | 230 | 223 |
The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.
Choosing between them
- There is no better school here, only a different one. These figures describe cohort averages. Where your own profile falls relative to a school's admitted range matters more than any published median.
- Cost is a family question, not a ranking. The three-year figure covers tuition, fees and published living costs. It does not include books, a laptop, travel home, or the income lost to three years of not working.
- Grant figures are history, not offers. Both medians describe past cohorts. Your award depends on your circumstances, the school's policy and its aid budget that year.
- Bar passage is heavily shaped by selectivity. A school that admits broadly and passes fewer of its own admittees is not necessarily providing a weaker education; the comparison is confounded by who each school chooses.
Full details on each school
| Louisiana State University | Loyola University-New Orleans | |
|---|---|---|
| Admissions data | All Louisiana State University admissions data | All Loyola University-New Orleans admissions data |
| Admissions funnel | Funnel & yield | Funnel & yield |
| Financial aid | Grants & aid bands | Grants & aid bands |
| Cost | Cost of attendance | Cost of attendance |
Other comparisons
Other Loyola University-New Orleans pairings, and other alternatives to Louisiana State University.
- No further pairings available for these two schools.
Common questions
What is the acceptance rate at Louisiana State University vs Loyola University-New Orleans?
Louisiana State University admitted 38.55% of applicants while Loyola University-New Orleans admitted 50.93%.
Which is cheaper, Louisiana State University or Loyola University-New Orleans?
Over three years, Louisiana State University costs $106,200 less. Louisiana State University runs $152,097 and Loyola University-New Orleans runs $258,297, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.
Which school offers more financial aid, Louisiana State University or Loyola University-New Orleans?
Louisiana State University reports a median grant of $19,750 per year for full-time students, compared with $26,000 at Loyola University-New Orleans. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.
Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Louisiana State University Law School and Loyola University-New Orleans Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.