Home / Compare / Kentucky vs Washington and Lee University

Kentucky vs Washington and Lee University

University of Kentucky Law School · Lexington, KY  |  Washington and Lee University Law School · Lexington, VA

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in Lexington — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

40.8%
Kentucky acceptance
22.7%
Washington and Lee University acceptance
$93,282
3-year cost gap
8
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureKentuckyWashington and Lee UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate40.78%22.73%+18.1
Median LSAT159167−8
Median GPA3.723.75−0
Annual tuition$25,685$57,450−31,765
3-year total cost$152,208$245,490−93,282
Median grant / year$11,000$33,500−22,500
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size147131+16
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill97.3%97.7%−0.4
Bar pass (1st time)79.8%93.5%−13.6

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Washington and Lee University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureKentuckyWashington and Lee UniversityGap
Acceptance rate40.78%22.73%+18.1percentage points
Median grant / year$11,000$33,500−22,500in dollars
Annual tuition$25,685$57,450−31,765in dollars
3-year total cost$152,208$245,490−93,282in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)KentuckyWashington and Lee University
Annual tuition$25,685$57,450
3-year total cost$152,208$245,490
Median grant / year$11,000$33,500
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureKentuckyWashington and Lee University
First-time bar passage79.8%93.5%
Offer yield28.4%24.1%
Class fill97.3%97.7%
Students enrolled143128
First-year class size147131

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

KentuckyWashington and Lee University
Admissions dataAll Kentucky admissions dataAll Washington and Lee University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Washington and Lee University pairings, and other alternatives to Kentucky.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Kentucky vs Washington and Lee University?

Kentucky admitted 40.78% of applicants while Washington and Lee University admitted 22.73%.

Which is cheaper, Kentucky or Washington and Lee University?

Over three years, Kentucky costs $93,282 less. Kentucky runs $152,208 and Washington and Lee University runs $245,490, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Kentucky or Washington and Lee University?

Kentucky reports a median grant of $11,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $33,500 at Washington and Lee University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for University of Kentucky Law School and Washington and Lee University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.