Home / Compare / Indiana University-Indianapolis vs Notre Dame

Indiana University-Indianapolis vs Notre Dame

Indiana University-Indianapolis Law School · Indianapolis, IN  |  University of Notre Dame Law School · Notre Dame, IN

This pairing is listed because these two schools are closest selectivity match in Indiana — see the note below for what this pairing does and does not mean.

This pairing exists because the school had no comparison page under the geographic rules. Both schools are in the same state at a similar selectivity level, which is the situation where applicants actually hesitate between them.

55.9%
Indiana University-Indianapolis acceptance
16.1%
Notre Dame acceptance
—
3-year cost gap
15
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureIndiana University-IndianapolisNotre DameDifference
Acceptance rate55.86%16.07%+39.8
Median LSAT155170−15
Median GPA3.583.89−0
Annual tuition$1,028/credit$73,430—
3-year total costnot reported$299,820—
Median grant / year$15,000$30,000−15,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size280185+95
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill97.5%98.4%−0.9
Bar pass (1st time)80.4%89.4%−9.1

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Notre Dame's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureIndiana University-IndianapolisNotre DameGap
Acceptance rate55.86%16.07%+39.8percentage points
First-year class size280185+95
Median grant / year$15,000$30,000−15,000in dollars
Bar pass (1st time)80.4%89.4%−9.1

Cost compared

A full three-year cost cannot be computed for both schools from the 509 disclosures available here. At least one reports tuition per credit hour rather than an annual figure, and no annual estimate is made.

Outcomes compared

MeasureIndiana University-IndianapolisNotre Dame
First-time bar passage80.4%89.4%
Offer yield54.1%31.7%
Class fill97.5%98.4%
Students enrolled273182
First-year class size280185

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Indiana University-IndianapolisNotre Dame
Admissions dataAll Indiana University-Indianapolis admissions dataAll Notre Dame admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Notre Dame pairings, and other alternatives to Indiana University-Indianapolis.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Indiana University-Indianapolis vs Notre Dame?

Indiana University-Indianapolis admitted 55.86% of applicants while Notre Dame admitted 16.07%.

Which school offers more financial aid, Indiana University-Indianapolis or Notre Dame?

Indiana University-Indianapolis reports a median grant of $15,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $30,000 at Notre Dame. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Indiana University-Indianapolis Law School and University of Notre Dame Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.