Home / Compare / Indiana University-Bloomington vs Notre Dame

Indiana University-Bloomington vs Notre Dame

Indiana University-Bloomington Law School · Bloomington, IN  |  University of Notre Dame Law School · Notre Dame, IN

This pairing is listed because these two schools are closest selectivity match in Indiana — see the note below for what this pairing does and does not mean.

This pairing exists because the school had no comparison page under the geographic rules. Both schools are in the same state at a similar selectivity level, which is the situation where applicants actually hesitate between them.

35.8%
Indiana University-Bloomington acceptance
16.1%
Notre Dame acceptance
$106,938
3-year cost gap
6
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureIndiana University-BloomingtonNotre DameDifference
Acceptance rate35.77%16.07%+19.7
Median LSAT164170−6
Median GPA3.913.89+0
Annual tuition$36,950$73,430−36,480
3-year total cost$192,882$299,820−106,938
Median grant / year$33,000$30,000+3,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size186185+1
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill100.0%98.4%+1.6
Bar pass (1st time)84.6%89.4%−4.8

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Notre Dame's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureIndiana University-BloomingtonNotre DameGap
Acceptance rate35.77%16.07%+19.7percentage points
Annual tuition$36,950$73,430−36,480in dollars
3-year total cost$192,882$299,820−106,938in dollars
Median grant / year$33,000$30,000+3,000in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Indiana University-BloomingtonNotre Dame
Annual tuition$36,950$73,430
3-year total cost$192,882$299,820
Median grant / year$33,000$30,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureIndiana University-BloomingtonNotre Dame
First-time bar passage84.6%89.4%
Offer yield28.4%31.7%
Class fill100.0%98.4%
Students enrolled186182
First-year class size186185

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Indiana University-BloomingtonNotre Dame
Admissions dataAll Indiana University-Bloomington admissions dataAll Notre Dame admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Notre Dame pairings, and other alternatives to Indiana University-Bloomington.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Indiana University-Bloomington vs Notre Dame?

Indiana University-Bloomington admitted 35.77% of applicants while Notre Dame admitted 16.07%.

Which is cheaper, Indiana University-Bloomington or Notre Dame?

Over three years, Indiana University-Bloomington costs $106,938 less. Indiana University-Bloomington runs $192,882 and Notre Dame runs $299,820, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Indiana University-Bloomington or Notre Dame?

Indiana University-Bloomington reports a median grant of $33,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $30,000 at Notre Dame. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Indiana University-Bloomington Law School and University of Notre Dame Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.