Home / Compare / Indiana University-Bloomington vs Indiana University-Indianapolis

Indiana University-Bloomington vs Indiana University-Indianapolis

Indiana University-Bloomington Law School · Bloomington, IN  |  Indiana University-Indianapolis Law School · Indianapolis, IN

This pairing is listed because these two schools are closest selectivity match in Indiana — see the note below for what this pairing does and does not mean.

This pairing exists because the school had no comparison page under the geographic rules. Both schools are in the same state at a similar selectivity level, which is the situation where applicants actually hesitate between them.

35.8%
Indiana University-Bloomington acceptance
55.9%
Indiana University-Indianapolis acceptance
—
3-year cost gap
9
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureIndiana University-BloomingtonIndiana University-IndianapolisDifference
Acceptance rate35.77%55.86%−20.1
Median LSAT164155+9
Median GPA3.913.58+0
Annual tuition$36,950$1,028/credit—
3-year total cost$192,882not reported—
Median grant / year$33,000$15,000+18,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size186280−94
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill100.0%97.5%+2.5
Bar pass (1st time)84.6%80.4%+4.2

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Indiana University-Indianapolis's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureIndiana University-BloomingtonIndiana University-IndianapolisGap
Median grant / year$33,000$15,000+18,000in dollars
Acceptance rate35.77%55.86%−20.1percentage points
First-year class size186280−94
Bar pass (1st time)84.6%80.4%+4.2

Cost compared

A full three-year cost cannot be computed for both schools from the 509 disclosures available here. At least one reports tuition per credit hour rather than an annual figure, and no annual estimate is made.

Outcomes compared

MeasureIndiana University-BloomingtonIndiana University-Indianapolis
First-time bar passage84.6%80.4%
Offer yield28.4%54.1%
Class fill100.0%97.5%
Students enrolled186273
First-year class size186280

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Indiana University-BloomingtonIndiana University-Indianapolis
Admissions dataAll Indiana University-Bloomington admissions dataAll Indiana University-Indianapolis admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Indiana University-Indianapolis pairings, and other alternatives to Indiana University-Bloomington.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Indiana University-Bloomington vs Indiana University-Indianapolis?

Indiana University-Bloomington admitted 35.77% of applicants while Indiana University-Indianapolis admitted 55.86%.

Which school offers more financial aid, Indiana University-Bloomington or Indiana University-Indianapolis?

Indiana University-Bloomington reports a median grant of $33,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $15,000 at Indiana University-Indianapolis. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Indiana University-Bloomington Law School and Indiana University-Indianapolis Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.