Home / Compare / Houston vs Texas Tech University

Houston vs Texas Tech University

University of Houston Law School · Houston, TX  |  Texas Tech University Law School · Lubbock, TX

This pairing is listed because these two schools are closest selectivity match in Texas — see the note below for what this pairing does and does not mean.

This pairing exists because the school had no comparison page under the geographic rules. Both schools are in the same state at a similar selectivity level, which is the situation where applicants actually hesitate between them.

23.0%
Houston acceptance
25.6%
Texas Tech University acceptance
$53,007
3-year cost gap
4
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureHoustonTexas Tech UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate22.99%25.61%−2.6
Median LSAT163159+4
Median GPA3.793.69+0
Annual tuition$31,326$22,590+8,736
3-year total cost$195,924$142,917+53,007
Median grant / year$11,500$12,000−500
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size249168+81
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill98.8%97.0%+1.8
Bar pass (1st time)84.5%95.5%−11.1

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Texas Tech University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureHoustonTexas Tech UniversityGap
First-year class size249168+81
Annual tuition$31,326$22,590+8,736in dollars
3-year total cost$195,924$142,917+53,007in dollars
Bar pass (1st time)84.5%95.5%−11.1

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)HoustonTexas Tech University
Annual tuition$31,326$22,590
3-year total cost$195,924$142,917
Median grant / year$11,500$12,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureHoustonTexas Tech University
First-time bar passage84.5%95.5%
Offer yield30.5%31.7%
Class fill98.8%97.0%
Students enrolled246163
First-year class size249168

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

HoustonTexas Tech University
Admissions dataAll Houston admissions dataAll Texas Tech University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Texas Tech University pairings, and other alternatives to Houston.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Houston vs Texas Tech University?

Houston admitted 22.99% of applicants while Texas Tech University admitted 25.61%.

Which is cheaper, Houston or Texas Tech University?

Over three years, Texas Tech University costs $53,007 less. Houston runs $195,924 and Texas Tech University runs $142,917, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Houston or Texas Tech University?

Houston reports a median grant of $11,500 per year for full-time students, compared with $12,000 at Texas Tech University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for University of Houston Law School and Texas Tech University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.